John Coltrane


merchbar gold supplier
John Coltrane COMPLETE SUN SHIP SESSION Vinyl Record


merchbar gold supplier
Out of Stock
Fulfilled by Merchbar

Product Description

(3-LP set) Sun Ship, recorded August 26, 1965, captures one of the last sessions by the Classic John Coltrane Quartet (Coltrane, pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Jimmy Garrison and drummer Elvin Jones). It comes at the culmination of a year in which Coltrane arguably reached his creative peak, a year rich in such masterworks. The Sun Ship album, though, was not issued until 1971, one of several Coltrane albums issued by Impulse Records after his death. And Sun Ship was, like many jazz albums, the product of editing between takes, a process overseen by John's widow Alice. The original three-track masters with the tenor sax on one track, the piano and bass on another and the drums on the third track were recently discovered, enabling the complete session to be released for the first time. Kevin Reeves recently remixed the entire session with great sonic results, improving greatly on the original LP mix. Mosaic has remastered them and pressed them on 180-gram vinyl at the renowned Record Technology Inc. plant in Camarillo, California. Limited edition of 3, 500.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Dearly Beloved [Takes 1 & 2, False Start and Alternate Version] [Take][
  2. Dearly Beloved [Take 3, Breakdown]
  3. Dearly Beloved [Take 4, Released Version] [Take][Version]
  4. Attaining [Take 1, Alternate Version] [Take][Version]
  5. Attaining [Take 2, Breakdown] [Take]
[Disc 2]
  1. Attaining [Take 3, Complete Version] [Take][Version]
  2. Attaining [Take 4, Insert 1] [Take]
  3. Sun Ship [Take 1, Breakdown] [Take]
  4. Sun Ship [Take 2, Complete Alternate Version] [Take][Version]
  5. Sun Ship [Take 3, Insert 1] [Take]
  6. Sun Ship [Take 4, Released Version] [Take][Version]
  7. Studio Conversation
  8. Ascent [Take 1, Released Version] [Take][Version]
[Disc 3]
  1. Ascent [Take 2, Incomplete Version] [Take][Version]
  2. Ascent [Take 3, False Starts, Incomplete Version] [Take][Version]
  3. Ascent [Takes 4-6, Inserts/False Starts] [Take]
  4. Ascent [Take 7, Complete Insert 4] [Take]
  5. Ascent [Take 8, Complete Insert 5] [Take]
  6. Amen [Take 1, Alternate Version] [Take][Version]
  7. Amen [Take 2, Released Version] [Take][Version]

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Merch Alert John Coltrane

Love John Coltrane ?

Be first to know about John Coltrane merch.
Your Cart
0 items