Frank Sinatra


merchbar gold supplier
Frank Sinatra IN THE WEE SMALL HOURS Vinyl Record
Frank Sinatra IN THE WEE SMALL HOURS Vinyl Record


merchbar gold supplier
Out of Stock
Fulfilled by Merchbar

Product Description

In the Wee Small Hours is the ninth studio album by American vocalist Frank Sinatra. It was released in April 1955 on Capitol Records, produced by Voyle Gilmore with arrangements by Nelson Riddle. All the songs on the album deal with specific themes such as loneliness, introspection, lost love, failed relationships, depression and night-life; as a result, In the Wee Small Hours has been called one of the first concept albums. The cover artwork reflects these themes, portraying Sinatra on an eerie and deserted street awash in blue-tinged street lights. He had been developing this idea since 1946 with his first album release, The Voice; he would successfully continue this "concept" formula with later albums such as Songs for Swingin' Lovers! and Only the Lonely. In the Wee Small Hours was issued as two 10-inch LP discs, and also as one 12-inch record LP, making it one of the first of it's kind. It was also issued as four four-song 45-rpm EP discs sold in cardboard sleeves with the same cover as the LPs, not in paper covers like 45-rpm singles. The album was a commercial success, reaching number 2 on the US charts where it stayed for 18 weeks, being Sinatra's highest charting album since his 1947 release Songs by Sinatra. As of 2002 it has been certified Gold by the RIAA, selling over 500,000 units. The album was also a critical success, and is listed as the third most acclaimed album of the 50s. In 2012, Rolling Stone ranked it the 101st greatest album of all time.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. "In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning" Bob Hilliard and David Mann 3:00
  2. "Mood Indigo" Barney Bigard, Duke Ellington and Irving Mills 3:30
  3. "Glad to Be Unhappy" Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart 2:35
  4. "I Get Along Without You Very Well" Hoagy Carmichael 3:42
  5. "Deep in a Dream" Eddie DeLange and Jimmy Van Heusen 2:49
  6. "I See Your Face Before Me" Howard Dietz and Arthur Schwartz 3:24
  7. "Can't We Be Friends?" Paul James and Kay Swift 2:48
  8. "When Your Lover Has Gone" Einar Aaron Swan 3:10
[Disc 2]
  1. "What Is This Thing Called Love?" Cole Porter 2:35
  2. "Last Night When We Were Young" Harold Arlen and Yip Harburg 3:17
  3. "I'll Be Around" Alec Wilder 2:59
  4. "Ill Wind" Harold Arlen and Ted Koehler 3:46
  5. "It Never Entered My Mind" Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart 2:42
  6. "Dancing on the Ceiling" Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart 2:57
  7. "I'll Never Be the Same" Gus Kahn, Matty Malneck and Frank Signorelli 3:05
  8. "This Love of Mine" Sol Parker, Henry W. Sanicola, Jr. and Frank Sinatra 3:33

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Merch Alert Frank Sinatra

Love Frank Sinatra ?

Be first to know about Frank Sinatra merch.
Your Cart
0 items