Ramones OLD WALDORF SAN FRANCISCO 31 JANUARY 1978 Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


The Ramones' first three albums are indispensable artifacts of the late '70s punk explosion, with their venomous fusion of Alice Cooper, The Lemon Pipers, and any other adolescent obsessions and college preoccupations. Ultimately, like their early live shows, these early albums are exhilarating formal triumphs. Their appearance at The Old Waldorf on January 31, 1978, enforced this with an abundance of energy and good vibes. Sweating American culture from every pore in 26 songs delivered with breakneck ferocity. Quite simply, it was a furor that challenged the pomp of prog and rock, drawing on three albums with Rocket to Russia being the most recent. Their Waldorf appearance displays a formidable force of nature in action. Armed with guitars, drums and with the trademark 1, 2, 3, 4 assault, the band rip through their 1978 set list, a near carbon copy of their more familiar January 7 NYC performance aired on the King Biscuit Flower Hour. Incidentally, Tommy Ramone would leave the band shortly after these shows to concentrate on producing, making way for ex-Voidoids drummer Marc Bell (aka Marky Ramone). Fortunately, the records remain, but importantly, so do a handful of live recordings that can at least allow an appreciation of an equally vital part of their legacy. Echoes proudly presents a rare opportunity to capture The Ramones at their explosive best and in their formative years when CBGB's was a minor backstreet haunt. Their appearance at The Old Waldorf, broadcast on KSAN-FM, is a testament to the energy and ferocity of the band as a live act. Complete broadcast on 180-gram vinyl in digitally remastered sound with background liners and rare photos.

Track List
  1. A1. Rockaway Beach
  2. A2. Teenage Lobotomy
  3. A3. Blitzkreig Bop
  4. A4. I Wanna Be Well
  5. A5. Glad to See You Go
  6. A6. Gimme, Gimme Shock Treatment
  7. A7. You're Gonna Kill That Girl
  8. A8. I Don't Care
  9. A9. Sheena Is a Punk Rocker
  10. A10. Havana Affair
  11. A11. Commando
  12. A12. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  13. B1. Surfin' Bird
  14. B2. Cretin Hop
  15. B3. Listen to My Heart
  16. B4. California Sun
  17. B5. I Don't Wanna Walk Around with You
  18. B6. Pinhead
  19. B7. Crowd/Radio Announcers
  20. B8. Do You Wanna Dance?
  21. B9. Oh, Oh I Love Hear So
  22. B10. Today Your Love, Tomorrow the World
  23. B11. Crowd/Radio Announcers
  24. B12. We're a Happy Family
  25. B13. Suzy Is a Headbanger
  26. B14. Let's Dance

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 2-4 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 2-4 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at support@merchbar.com!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.