20 YEARS OF HENRY STREET / VARIOUS (GATE) 20 YEARS OF HENRY STREET / VARIOUS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Incredible as it seems, this year marks twenty years since the launch of Johnny D'Mairo's Henry Street Music label. To celebrate, BBE is marking the occasion with a sumptuous five- disc CD retrospective, a fitting tribute to one of the most important of all house labels. This is one of the most extensive grand summations yet done of a dance label. Henry Street Music exemplified it's era as much as Trax and Nu-Groove had theirs. Come the mid-'90s, the disco cut-up became ubiquitous, as thousands tried to emu late the success of Henry Street's first big killer, The Bucketheads' Tha Bomb -still a dancefloor staple two decades on. Many of the movers and shakers of the day had their best moments on Henry Street, and they're all here: Johnnick, Armand Van Helden, DJ Duke, DJ Sneak, Dirty Harry, Davidson Ospina, Todd Terry, Mateo and Matos, Brutal Bill, Josh Wink, even the UK's own Ashley Beedle, and many more -a veritable roll-call of the premiere-league of dance at the time, an era when dance music still seemed incredibly fertile and the link with it's own past was still vital. Some of the American originals can struggle to get props among the countless mutations of house out there vying for attention in today's digitalized dance scene, but the real house-heads always knew to check them, and will recognize this as quality product, through and through. Henry Street (named after Brooklyn homeboy Johnny's neighbourhood) always had a 'New York' vibe, and even when drawing it's producers from further afield, the label encapsulated the city's melting-pot of talent and raw, bristling energy... energy captured here, and exploding off these remastered tracks like it's 1999 all over again! Alongside the massive dancefloor anthems from the likes of Kenny Dope and Armand Van Helden are some real gems that got away, some exclusive mixes, and the thoughts of Johnny D, one of the prime-movers of the New York dance scene even before he came up with his own label, responsible for countless hits as promotions man and as dance A&R at Atlantic. Never one for the limelight, Johnny's own story is nonetheless inextricably bound up with the transition from disco through house to the ubiquity of dance music today. So... dust off those dancing shoes, and get ready to feel the heat, it's one more time for the Henry Street Hustle!

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Whew By: Kenny "Dope"
  2. It's Jazzy By: Anthony Mannino
  3. Hey Baby By: Armand Van Helden
  4. The Bomb! (These Sounds Fall Into My Mind) By: Kenny "Dope"
  5. Play the World By: Johnick
  6. Show Me the Way By: DJ Sneak
  7. Rainbow '95 By: Mateo & Matos
  8. Walk 4 Me By: Robbie Tronco
  9. Ascension (The Ethereal Funk Mix) By: Dirty Harry
  10. Gonna Luv U (Bonus Track) By: Dirty Harry
  11. Sunrize By: Ashley Beedle
  12. The Funk Phenomena by: Armand Van Helden
  13. I Thought Your Love by: Todd Terry
  14. I Wanna Know by: Kenny "Dope"
  15. Who's Hoo by: 95 North
  16. Byrdman's Revenge by: Mike Delgado
  17. Brinca by: Ralphi Rosario
  18. Open Up Your Eyes by: Johnick
  19. Philly Jazz (Remix) by: Brutal Bill
  20. The Hustler by: DJ Duke
  21. Reachin' by: DJ Sneak
  22. I Can't Take It (Bonus Track) by: Robbie Rivera
  23. My Eyes by: The Pound Boys
  24. I Believe by: That Kid Chris
  25. Feels Good by: DJ Sneak
  26. The Missile by: Little Louie Vega
  27. Funky Music by: Norty Cotto
  28. Mecca Toast by: Armand Van Helden
  29. Party Hardy by: 95 North
[Disc 2]
  1. Get On The Floor by: Robbie Rivera
  2. Funky Fresh by: DJ Stew
  3. Magic (Mk Mix) by: Johnick
  4. Night Beat Club (Main Mix) by: Salvatore Vitrano
  5. Brooklyn Beats (Pulse 2 Rhythm Mix) by: Scotti Deep
  6. Heard Paradise (Bonus Track) by: Davidson Ospina
  7. Shake It Again by: Ray Roc
  8. Steal Your Love by: BQE
  9. Been There by: Jeremias Santiago
  10. Paradise By The Furious Light by: Furious George
  11. Keep Dancin' by: Paul Simpson
  12. Next To You by: Josh Harris presents Philter Inc
  13. Die Another Day by: Tony Moran
  14. Melted by: Albert Cabrera
  15. Feelin' It by: Groove Culture
  16. Came Into My Life by: Andy Ward
  17. Johnick Theme (Bonus Track) by: Johnick
  18. D2-D2 (I Get Deep) (Timmy Regisford Shelter Mix) by: DJ Duke
  19. Clap Along by: Markus Schulz
  20. Like That by: Mike Rizzo
  21. The Funk Phenomena (Starkillers Remix) by: Armand Van Helden
  22. Night Birds by: Davidson Ospina
  23. Lake Shore Drive by: E-Smoove
  24. Feel The Thunder (Tommy Musto Mix) by: Stron Jay
  25. My Thing by: DJ Sneak
  26. Hustle Me This by: Norty Cotto
  27. Love To Ecstacy by: DJ Kwest
  28. Byrdman's Revenge (Trigger To Love Mix) by: Mike Delgado
  29. Party People (Original Demo) by: Todd Terry
  30. One Of A Kind (Bonus Track) by: That Kid Chris

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 8 weeks or longer
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 8 weeks or longer.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at support@merchbar.com!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.