AMERICAN CASSETTE CULTURE: RECORDINGS 1971 / VAR Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Limited edition of 150. The American Cassette Culture box set documents American pioneers and protagonists of late '70s/early '80s cassette culture. While rock music of the 1970s and '80s became a worldwide mainstream corporate business, the creation of the cassette format opened music production up to everyone, and a DIY network sprung up that enabled musicians to release recordings they had already produced during the '70s. This box of 12 LPs, two 7"s, and the accompanying 48-page LP-sized booklet tells the story behind some of the major influential artists and their earliest recordings produced during the '70s and early '80s, as well as the labels and relevant press covering those cassette recordings. This box is about those artists and people who planted the seed of an independent culture that would develop throughout the '80s and is still active today. It also tells the story of Archie Patterson's Eurock Magazine and Distribution, a highly influential US cassette distribution company, which distributed and/or released many of the early cassette works contained in this box. Includes Don Slepian: LP with tracks from Electronic Music from the Rainbow Isle (1978), Rhythm of Life (1982), and Uncontrolled Voltage (1982) by Synarios (Slepian and Lauri Paisley); Steve Roach: LP with tracks from Now (1982) and previously unreleased material; Marc Barreca: LP with tracks from Raw Fish and Green Tea (1979/'80), Currents (1979/'80), Music Works for Industry (1983), and In a Foreign Land (1977); Anode: double LP with tracks from Anode (1979), Trips North Trips South (1979), Kinetic Experiments (rec. 1974-'79, rel. 1981), Early Tapeworm (1975), Floyd Cramer's Hall of Gold (1975), and Year of The Taperecorder; K. Leimer: double LP with tracks from Translucent/Memory (1978), Natural History/The Mind and Its Likeness (1979), and Installation View (rec. 1977/'78/'80, rel. 1983); Young Scientist (James Husted, Marc Barreca, and Roland Barker): LP with tracks from Over Low Trees... (1979), Life Sciences, and Results Not Answers (1979); Ken Moore: double LP containing Electronic Music Series Vol. 1-5 (recorded 1976-'84): tracks from Tempus Fugit (1980), To Come Into Being (1981), Loubi Stem (1981), To No Avail (1980), and The Jupiter Effect (1984), and a 7" with tracks from Frame of Reference (written 1972, rec. 1977-'79, rel. 1980) and In a Pound of Logic (1983); and Galen: double LP with tracks from Xom (1979), Gulag (1979), and Limacon (1979) (all recorded 1979-'80) and a 7" of bonus material.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. A1. Eight Hours to Milan (5:59)
  2. A2. Raw Fish and Green Tea (7:13)
  3. A3. Briefly Interrupted by a Welcome Stranger (5:47)
  4. A4. Current 2 (4:11)
  5. A5. Current 6 (4:40)
  6. B1. Wolf Tone (3:12)
  7. B2. Boppin (3:49)
  8. B3. Soundtrack from Salmo (4:28)
  9. B4. School of Wales (4:19)
  10. B5. In a Foreign Land (6:16)
  11. B6. Music Works for Industry (2:09)
  12. B7. The Urge to Buy Terrorizes You (1:46)
  13. B8. Community Life (2:00)
[Disc 2]
  1. A1. 25-in High (1:08)
  2. A2. Cacopheno Part 1 and 2 (2:35)
  3. A3. Babies Have to Be White (0:53)
  4. A4. Symphony for Steel String Guitar (7:56)
  5. A5. From the Waist Down (4:38)
  6. A6. Cluter (2:07)
  7. A7. 17 Ways to Skin a Cat (0:41)
  8. A8. The Fish Milk Syndrom (3:31)
  9. A9. Original Syn (1:33)
  10. A10. Reflective Calm (3:08)
  11. B1. Stop It! (2:24)
  12. B2. Evening Thoughts (8:50)
  13. B3. Skydiving with Lepers (1:58)
  14. B4. Steel Wool Clouds (2:39)
  15. B5. Loeon (3:40)
  16. B6. Dreams of Sleeping
  17. B7. Quiet synth (1:37)
[Disc 3]
  1. A1. Downtime (20:00)
  2. A2. Luxus (8:16)
  3. B1. Trips North, Trips South, Not Intended for Consumption (21:40)
  4. B2. Ataraxia (9:00)
[Disc 4]
  1. A1. Go Slowly All the Way Round the Outside (6:47)
  2. A2. Failure (4:47)
  3. A3. Porcelain (2:52)
  4. A4. The Vanishing Fountain (3:12)
  5. A5. Stationary Image (2:44)
  6. A6. 555 (2:32)
  7. B1. Sleep (2:32)
  8. B2. Malaise (4:45)
  9. B3. A Simple Sadness (6:44)
  10. B4. Kirlian (2:40)
  11. B5. Nostalgia for Sleep (4:31)
[Disc 5]
  1. A1. At Daybreak (2:38)
  2. A2. Natural History (2:40)
  3. A3. Desert Largo (2:15)
  4. A4. Hansa (2:16)
  5. A5. Milk Sphinx (2:08)
  6. A6. Through Ghost (2:05)
  7. A7. The Vanishing Fountain (2:08)
  8. A8. Threshold (7:24)
  9. B1. Figure Eights (2:42)
  10. B2. Ancient of Days (2:31)
  11. B3. the Mind and It's Likeness (5:41)
  12. B4. Ground to Ground (1:50)
  13. B5. Acquiescence (5:07)
  14. B6. Diminish (4:56)
  15. B7. Two Chambers (1:58)
[Disc 6]
  1. A1. Breakfast at Moms (6:20)
  2. A2. Manufacturing (5:35)
  3. A3. Angkor What (6:35)
  4. A4. Rehearsal Fragment 3 (4:43)
  5. A5. Rehearsal Fragment 5 (4:39)
  6. B1. Space Filling Curves (4:55)
  7. B2. Subculture (7:43)
  8. B3. Uzu Suburbs (7:19)
  9. B4. Over Low Trees (10:06)
[Disc 7]
  1. A1. Evolution (10:34)
  2. A2. Glimmerings (3:29)
  3. A3. Flight Over Swampland (5:15)
  4. A4. Halloween Piece (4:30)
  5. A5. March of the Spirits (2:03)
  6. B1. Horizon (5:23)
  7. B2. Sunflower (8:41)
  8. B3. Fast Motion (2:40)
  9. B4. Another Electric Tuesday (6:12)
[Disc 8]
  1. A1. Growth Sequence (9:05)
  2. A2. Transition (4:30)
  3. A3. Cloud Motion (5:15)
  4. A4. The Ritual Continues (4:47)
  5. A5. Comeback Flute (6:00)
  6. B1. Inquest (7:00)
  7. B2. Emotion Revealed (23:00) (previously unreleased)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.