ANOTHER VIEW CAREER IN DANCING - ABSTRACTION YEARS 1979-81 Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Highly anticipated box set covering the musical output from 1979 to 1981 by one of the ultimate musical genius and protagonists of British minimal synth and EBM. Multi-talented Luton-based Adrian Smith started his first musical exploration in the field of electronic and experimental music in the mid '70s, self-releasing projects on his Abstractions label, including projects called Underland and Electrodub, the latter of which gained recognition from Throbbing Gristle's Industrial Records. During 1979 and 1981, after leading punk-orientated bands with his brother Derek Smith for three years (Those Nervous Surgeons, Nervous Surgeons, Half Nervous), Adrian Smith recorded six tapes, all reissued here for the first time, with almost six hours of atmospheric, powerful minimal synth music from which no listener can escape without experiencing wonderful feelings and emotions. His first two tapes from 1979 (From the Silent Days and Absolutely Safe) were only given to friends (due to a lack of contacts and the absence of what would later become a thriving cassette culture) and therefore remained almost unheard. With the release of A Career in Dancing in the summer of 1980 (a compilation of his early works from those two tapes plus a selection of new material), he increasingly gained appreciation on an international level, winning acclaim from both press and individuals within the developing tape-trader community. Before long people such as Martin Reed of the Mirage label became interested in releasing his works. Members of the press and editors such as Chris Jones of Flowmotion. Mag began reviewing. With the fourth and fifth releases, Look (Mirage, 1980) and The Mental Dance (1981), he managed to get into the Cassette "Obscurist" Charts in Sounds Magazine (run by Paul Platypus, later Paddy Shennan) and finally received attention and recognition. For his sixth tape, Killing Time (1981), Smith started a label called Lung Function, possibly related to the fact that the sound was changing from atmospheric minimal synth to a harsher and rougher sound, which laid the foundation for the typical EBM sound of Click Click, which Smith and his brother started around that time, a sound best experienced on the Behind Dark Glasses tape.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. A1. Power Station (4:16)
  2. A2. Maximum Contrast (4:00)
  3. A3. Dance (3:16)
  4. A4. Sitcom (4:10)
  5. A5. The Elephant Man (3:11)
  6. A6. Pressure (3:55)
  7. A7. Stuntman (3:32)
  8. B1. Throwaway (Inhale) (4:22)
  9. B2. A Career in Dancing (3:53)
  10. B3. She Goes to Your Heart (5:21)
  11. B4. Urge (2:01)
  12. B5. Stay Awake (2:23)
  13. B6. Frequently Repeat (2:14)
  14. B7. Another View (4:20)
  15. B8. Too Much Fiction (0:59)
[Disc 2]
  1. A1. Overture (4:16)
  2. A2. Motorway (5:23)
  3. A3. La Discotheque (2:39)
  4. A4. The March of Time (4:42)
  5. A5. Who's Left (3:53)
  6. A6. Metal (6:29)
  7. B1. Emergency (7:46)
  8. B2. Throw It Away (4:22)
  9. B3. God for Today (2:09)
  10. B4. Make Up (3:19)
  11. B5. Heat 87 (6:24)
  12. B6. Lufthansa (3:01)
[Disc 3]
  1. A1. Amongst the Portraits (6:55)
  2. A2. Theme (3:54)
  3. A3. 1969 (4:35)
  4. A4. The Filter Switch (4:49)
  5. A5. A Thesis On Falling Down (6:17)
  6. B1. Afterflow (4:47)
  7. B2. Paper Guns (6:24)
  8. B3. Stepping in the Light (3:13)
  9. B4. Who Are You (3:00)
  10. B5. Few Killer (2:22)
  11. B6. Reasons to Be Here (4:14)
  12. B7. The Number (3:53)
[Disc 4]
  1. A1. Red China (6:04)
  2. A2. The Search (4:02)
  3. A3. Silo (3:04)
  4. A4. Real Identity (3:45)
  5. A5. Look (2:36)
  6. A6. The Body Value (5:44)
  7. B1. Pop Culture (1:38)
  8. B2. Winter (6:05)
  9. B3. You Typewriter (3:11)
  10. B4. Main End Regret (5:48)
  11. B5. The Voice On My Phone (8:51)
[Disc 5]
  1. A1. The Stand (5:12)
  2. A2. Buildings and People (4:57)
  3. A3. The Midnight Cowboy (4:49)
  4. A4. Brother Riff (5:36)
  5. A5. Carbon (Edit) (9:05)
  6. B1. Presentation (4:00)
  7. B2. For My Friends (4:24)
  8. B3. Speaking in Tongues (4:33)
  9. B4. Birthday (4:41)
  10. B5. The Mental Dance (7:42)
  11. B6. The Door (2:40)
[Disc 6]
  1. A1. In Bomb Craters (5:41)
  2. A2. Week By Week (3:13)
  3. A3. Encounters (3:41)
  4. A4. Teasing the Truth (4:08)
  5. B1. Early Fantasies (2:33)
  6. B2. Sexuality (5:11)
  7. B3. Tongues of Man (4:27)
  8. B4. Flew With Birds (5:00)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in up to 8 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in up to 8 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.