Apparat MULTIFUNKTIONSEBENE TTTRIAL & EROR DUPLEX Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Triple LP box version. Includes download code. The Shitkatapult label reissues Apparat's first three albums, originally released in 2001, '02, and '03, as a deluxe box set. Hardly any other musician at the interface between electronic and pop is as greatly cherished and passionately admired as the Berlin-based Apparat. He merges the inexhaustible sound-worlds of electronic music with the emotional depth of indie. He makes music to rock out to and to drift away to, to sing along to and to dive into. With Moderat, his collaboration with Modeselektor, he has commanded numerous festival stages. In 2015, he created the score for the 2015 film Equals, and is working on the third Moderat album at the time of this release, as well as his second collaboration with theatrical luminary Sebastian Hartmann. Most people got to know Apparat through his albums Walls (STRIKE 084CD, 2007) and The Devil's Walk (2011), and don't know much about his early, quintessentially electronic music dating back to just after the turn of the millennium. In his early 20s at the time, Apparat created an autonomous, radical sound-universe on those albums - long out of print - that is just as fascinating today as it was then. For this combined reissue, Mike Grinser painstakingly remastered each album and Carsten Aermes, a comrade-in-arms from Apparat's early days in Quedlinburg, East Germany, designed the cover based on Apparat's own original graphic design. Apparat's debut album, Multifunktionsebene, was released in 2001. With it's intricate grooves and floating soundscapes, it defines a differentiated, tuned-down emotional spectrum. It is a recorded moment from another era entirely, which is exactly what makes it so powerful and captivating. Tttrial and Eror, from 2002, is his electronic magnum opus. Apparat mangles the grooves and develops rhythms with a complexity that makes Aphex Twin seem dull by comparison. And yet from within these tremendous, brutish tracks emerge minute, cautious sounds. On his third album, Duplex (2003), his world of sound explodes as he adds acoustic instruments to the electronics. Throbbing basses create an absurd contrast with saxophones and clarinets. He continues to define his acoustic space, which is reminiscent of classical chamber music; intimate and tactile. This is where he lays the foundation for Apparat as we know it. One can only marvel at the consummate and broad understanding of music that Apparat had already achieved in his youth.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. 01. Multifunktionsebene (5:22)
  2. 02. 7,5t (5:50)
  3. 03. Error 404 (7:21)
  4. 04. Fuckedup (6:06)
  5. 05. Multifocus (4:30)
  6. 06. Aspirin (5:11)
  7. 07. Distance (5:25)
  8. 08. Execute (6:30)
  9. 09. Forward/Backward (7:03)
[Disc 2]
  1. 01. First Try (1:08)
  2. 02. First Eror (5:14)
  3. 03. Pressure (7:20)
  4. 04. Bugs and Fixes (5:05)
  5. 05. Nato (4:07)
  6. 06. ABS (4:38)
  7. 07. Shutdown (1:34)
[Disc 3]
  1. 01. Granular Bastard (4:45)
  2. 02. Contradiction (4:47)
  3. 03. Steinholz (4:45)
  4. 04. Interrupt (2:17)
  5. 05. Wooden (5:25)
  6. 06. Warm Signal (5:11)
  7. 07. Schallstrom (4:50)
  8. 08. Repeat Till Overload (2:15)
  9. 09. Cerro Largo (3:37)
  10. 10. Interrupt II (0:47)
  11. 11. Steady Uprising (3:53)
  12. 12. Interrupt III (0:55)
  13. 13. Negra Modelo (4:44)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.