Brigitte Fontaine & Areski JE NE CONNAIS PAS CET HOMME Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Brigitte Fontaine & Areski JE NE CONNAIS PAS CET HOMME Vinyl Record

Brigitte Fontaine & Areski JE NE CONNAIS PAS CET HOMME Vinyl Record
Vinyl LP pressing. Following their groundbreaking collaboration with the Art Ensemble of Chicago, Comme à la Radio, Areski and Brigitte Fontaine began recording almost exclusively together as a duo. Originally released in 1973, Je Ne Connais Pas Cet Homme is their first record billed under both names. Deeply rooted in North African and European folk traditions, the album features evocative vignettes with breezy vocals and minimal accompaniment of classical guitar, strings and woodwinds. As always, there is a mercurial quality to their lyrics. The title track (translated as "I Do Not Know This Man") suggests at once Apostle Peter's denial and a poetic acknowledgement. On "C'est Normal", Fontaine playfully questions the status quo while Areski offers satirical answers. What makes Je Ne Connais Pas Cet Homme one of their best-loved albums, though, is it's remarkable sense of intimacy-as if Areski and Fontaine beckon listeners into their strange and beautiful world.

Track List
  1. Depuis
  2. J'ai 26 Ans, Madame
  3. La Fille Du Cur?
  4. Comment Ca Va
  5. Montparnasse
  6. La Recherche de L'hiver
  7. Les Blanchisseuses
  8. C'est Normal
  9. Dis-Moi
  10. Insert
  11. On N'est Pas Des Arbres
  12. La Renarde Et Le B'lier Touffu
  13. Insert
  14. Je Ne Connais Pas Cet Homme
  15. Nous Ne Pourrons Plus Dormir
  16. La Morvien
  17. Le Silence
  18. Final

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.