BOURBONESE QUALK 1983-1987 Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

BOURBONESE QUALK 1983-1987 Vinyl Record

BOURBONESE QUALK 1983-1987 Vinyl Record
LP version. Mannequin Records is proud to present a compilation of one of the most important industrial bands active during the '80s in the UK. Bourbonese Qualk were an experimental music group from England, active from 1979 through 2003. They were always obsessively and uncompromisingly focused on controlling their work: they ran their own record label, recording studio, tour organization, and music venue (the notorious Ambulance Station). They refused to integrate into the commercial music racket and turned down publishing deals from major labels, stubbornly opting for total independence. They're also known for their political activism, formed in the crucible of 1980s Britain amid such influences as the UK miners' strike, the Falklands War, Thatcherism, monetarism, local government corruption, squatting, anti-capitalism, anti-fascism, and anarchism. Their work was often ambiguous and directly critical of cynical power-politics of any color, often irritating members of the traditional organized left. In 1984 Bourbonese Qualk occupied a large empty building on the Old Kent Road in South London, which they turned into a base for their activities, a cooperative space for artists, musicians, and writers, and a center for radical political activism - specifically as a coordinating center for the Stop the City anti-capitalist riots of 1984. Throughout it's existence the band had a number of different line-ups; this collection focuses on the period of 1983 through 1987, which featured the trio of Simon Crab, Julian Gilbert, and Steven Tanza. During this time the group released five albums: Laughing Afternoon (1983), Hope (1984), the Spike (1985), Preparing for Power (1986), and Bourbonese Qualk (1987), releasing all but the Spike on their own labels Recloose Organisation and New International Recordings. Most of the tracks on this collection were recorded in their studio at the Ambulance Station. The group chose never to record in a proper studio (not that they could ever afford to), working instead with their own extremely basic equipment at a time when home studios were very unusual. If Bourbonese Qualk have a legacy, it is that culture should be reclaimed, redefined, and owned by the people, wherever they are, however small, and not by the state or the market, and that culture is a vital vehicle for debate and radical change. The fight goes on. Mastered by Rude 66. Graphic design curated by Simon Crab and Alessandro Adriani. (*tracks on this LP version only)

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Dream Decade *
  2. Born Left Hearted
  3. Pogrom
  4. Soft City
  5. Headstop
  6. Gag
  7. Outcry
[Disc 2]
  1. Return to Order
  2. Confrontation
  3. In Flux *
  4. Qualk Street
  5. Backlash
  6. Sweat It Out *
  7. There Is No Night *
[Disc 3]
  1. God With Us
  2. Blood Orange Bargain Day
  3. Shutdown
  4. Invocation
  5. To Hell With The Consequences
[Disc 4]
  1. Erector
  2. Black Madonna
  3. Suburb City
  4. Workover
  5. Deadbeat
  6. Insurrection
  7. This Is The Enemy

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in up to 8 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in up to 8 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.