Captain Beefheart SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 TO 1972 Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Captain Beefheart SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 TO 1972 Vinyl Record

Captain Beefheart SUN ZOOM SPARK: 1970 TO 1972 Vinyl Record
Limited Edition four vinyl LP set containing newly remastered versions of LICK MY DECALS OFF, BABY, THE SPOTLIGHT KID and CLEAR SPOT, plus an entire LP of unreleased outtakes. Recorded over a couple of weeks in the summer of 1970 at United Recording Group in Hollywood, LICK MY DECALS OFF, BABY was released the following October. One of Don Van Vliet's (AKA Captain Beefheart) favorites, the album represents the apex of his dissonant style and includes such standout tracks as the quirky-funny 'I Love You, You Big Dummy' and the exquisite solo guitar piece 'One Red Rose That I Mean.'

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Lick My Decals Off, Baby 2:38 - Captain Beefheart & The Magic Band: Lick My Decals Off, Baby (October 1970)
  2. Doctor Dark 2:46
  3. I Love You, You Big Dummy 2:54
  4. Peon 2:24
  5. Bellerin' Plain 3:35
  6. Woe-Is-Uh-Me-Bop 2:06
  7. Japan In A Dishpan 3:00
[Disc 2]
  1. I Wanna Find A Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go 1:53
  2. Petrified Forest 1:40
  3. One Red Rose That I Mean 1:53
  4. The Buggy Boogie Woogie 2:19
  5. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (Or The Big Dig) 2:11
  6. Space-Age Couple 2:32
  7. The Clouds Are Full Of Wine (Not Whiskey Or Rye) 2:50
  8. Flash Gordon's Ape 4:57
[Disc 3]
  1. I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby 4:34 - Captain Beefheart: The Spotlight Kid (February 1972)
  2. White Jam 2:57
  3. Blabber 'N Smoke 2:48
  4. When It Blows It Stacks 3:41
  5. Alice In Blunderland 3:55
[Disc 4]
  1. The Spotlight Kid 3:21
  2. Click Clack 3:31
  3. Grow Fins 3:31
  4. There Ain't No Santa Claus On The Evenin' Stage 3:13
  5. Glider 4:37
[Disc 5]
  1. Low Yo Yo Stuff 3:38 - Captain Beefheart & The Magic Band: Clear Spot (November 1972)
  2. Nowadays A Woman's Gotta Hit A Man 3:45
  3. Too Much Time 2:46
  4. Circumstances 3:11
  5. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains 2:57
  6. Sun Zoom Spark 2:11
[Disc 6]
  1. Clear Spot 3:35
  2. Crazy Little Thing 2:35
  3. Long Neck Bottles 3:17
  4. Her Eyes Are A Blue Million Miles 2:54
  5. Big Eyed Beans From Venus 4:23
  6. Golden Birdies 1:37
[Disc 7]
  1. Alice In Blunderland (Alternate Version) 3:55 - Captain Beefheart: Out-Takes
  2. Harry Irene 3:33
  3. I Can't Do This Unless I Can Do This / Seam Crooked Sam 2:00
  4. Pompadour Swamp / Suction Prints 4:23
  5. The Witch Doctor Life 5:27
  6. Two Rips In A Haystack / Kiss Me My Love 2:38
  7. Best Batch Yet (Track) Version 1 2:18
[Disc 8]
  1. Your Love Brought Me To Life (Instrumental) 3:11
  2. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 1) 2:52
  3. Nowadays A Woman's Gotta Hit A Man (Early Mix) 3:59
  4. Kiss Where I Kain't 2:44
  5. Circumstances (Alternate Version 2) 3:23
  6. Little Scratch 2:57
  7. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 3) 3:03

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.