CHICAS 2: SPANISH FEMALE SINGERS 1963-1978 / VAR Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Double LP version. Much of the music made by Spanish women in past decades didn't reach it's potential audience. Too much. For varied reasons, the more personal and daring work couldn't break the barriers imposed by a society with a narrow and prudish view of what a woman's role should be. This second volume of Chicas! Must disprove again the lie that says that in the '60s and first half of the '70s, Spanish female artists hardly sang anything but ye-ye, singer songwriter, copla, or romantic songs. Despite all the social determinants and repressive archetypes which stigmatized anyone who left the queue, the most courageous women began their paths in new music roles which they immediately considered their own... Whether it was as solo artists or as part of a band, along with men or other women, the real turning point for our more groundbreaking pop female singers at the time was their ability to associate. Suddenly, breaking the isolation that until then considered them mere instruments in the hands of men, those daring girls got involved in ambitious projects and tried to do it by themselves, obtaining a normality denied until then. Exquisite experiences of select Avant-garde, brave examples of Groove and Funk or adventures in '70s Rock; of course, there were also incursions in twist, Bossa, Ska, Soul, or the emerging Gypsy Rock trend... The tracks featured here are the proofs of this wonder, and the line up of female artists that make this record possible; many of them sadly unknown or forgotten until now, are the wonderful and still relevant cast of this story, Vicente Fabuel. Many of these tracks, originally released between 1963 and 1978, are reissued here for the first time, including very hard to find records. CD and double LP include extensive liner notes by Vincente Fabuel featuring all of the original record sleeves and artist photos. Includes tracks by Claudya Con Ramon y Sus Showmen, Donna Hightower, Claudine Coppin, Blanca Aurora, Ana Kiro, Marina, Elsa Baeza, Anton Garcia Abril, Edda Dell'Orso, La Nueva Generacion, Elia y Elizabeth, Satin Bells, Karina Con los Jaguars, Rocio Durcal, Sola, Las Trillizas de Oro, Barbara, Los Quandos, Los Jolly's, Anabella y los Platinos, The Zara's, La Llave 3, Paloma San Basilio, Morena y Clara, Alicia Granados, Los Cenits, Las Chic, Los Unisonos, and Elia Fleta.

Track List
  1. 01. Claudya Con Ramón y Sus Showmen - Un Millón de Lágrimas
  2. 02. Donna Hightower - Tú Eres Mi Ídolo
  3. 03. Claudine Coppin - 40° a La Sombra
  4. 04. Blanca Aurora - Tú No Eres Ye-Yé
  5. 05. Ana Kiro - Por Última Vez
  6. 06. Marina - Snob Ye-Yé
  7. 07. Elsa Baeza - Dubeque Dublín
  8. 08. Antón García Abril/Edda Dell'Orso - 4...3...2...1... Morte
  9. 09. La Nueva Generación - Más Me Enamoro de Ti
  10. 10. Elia y Elizabeth - Ponte Bajo el Sol
  11. 11. Satin Bells - Come C'mon
  12. 12. Karina Con los Jaguars - La Misma Playa
  13. 13. Rocío Durcal - Me Están Mirando
  14. 14. Sola - Tabú, Tabú
  15. 15. Las Trillizas de Oro - Pochoclo
  16. 16. Bárbara - Conquistador de Cartón
  17. 17. Los Quandos - Soul Man
  18. 18. Los Jolly's - Mirza
  19. 19. Anabella y los Platinos - Aho... Aho
  20. 21. The Zara's - Telstar
  21. 21. La Llave 3 - La Bruja
  22. 22. Paloma San Basilio - Contigo
  23. 23. Morena y Clara - Ya No Te Guardo Rencor
  24. 24. Alicia Granados - No Soy un Guarismo
  25. 25. Los Cenits - Más Que Nada
  26. 26. Las Chic - Tic a Tic a Toc Toc
  27. 27. Los Unísonos - Decídete
  28. 28. Elia Fleta - Tu Vida Cambió

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.