Cyclist BONES IN MOTION Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Cyclist BONES IN MOTION Vinyl Record

Cyclist BONES IN MOTION Vinyl Record
Acting, Thinking, Feeling marks the first time that psychedelic jazz ensemble The Stark Reality's Discovers Hoagy Carmichael's Music Shop album has been reissued in full (the 2003 Stones Throw Records anthology Now only contained half of the original album's music). The anthology also contains the band's out-of-print Roller Coaster Ride (first issued as 1969 on Now-Again in 2003), and a series of recently discovered, previously-unreleased tracks in a 3 CD "complete works" box set. Besides the missing Hoagy Carmichael's Music Shop songs, the most exciting additions to the Stark Reality's oeuvre are the three songs recorded between the earliest incarnation of the band - the big band that recorded "Theme To Say Brother" and "Acting, Thinking, Feeling" in 1968 - and the slimmed down combo that recorded the Roller Coaster Ride and The Stark Reality Discovers Hoagy Carmichael's Music Shop. These recordings display a band in flux, and color the development of Stark's genius. We hear the signature sound of his "plugged in" vibes for the first time; we hear an early stab at the psychedelic "Red Yellow Moonbeams" (and realize why his addition John Abercrombie and his fuzz guitar was crucial to his vision); we hear a subtle change towards a more funk and rock based sound. This anthology thus encapsulates the first known Stark Reality recordings - done for and in performance at WGBH, these transitional big band pieces, and the Roller Coaster Ride and The Stark Reality Discovers Hoagy Carmichael's Music Shop albums in full. The liner notes are updated with Ahmad Jamal's participation, more photos and full annotation of the additional songs.

Track List
  1. Feel Beauty
  2. Mangel
  3. Bones in Motion
  4. Sheen
  5. Makeshift
  6. Stove
  7. The March
  8. Another Exploitation
  9. Visions
  10. Black Train
  11. Fleet Meeting
  12. Dusty
  13. Mongel
  14. Reels
  15. Sleeping

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.