CZECH UP 1: CHAIN OF FOOLS / VARIOUS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Czech Up! Vol. 1: Chain of Fools is Vampisoul's first collection of gems from the vaults of the Czech Supraphon label, which has been continuously active since the early 1950s. While it has always been highly esteemed by music connoisseurs for it's excellent classical music releases, Supraphon's pop, rock, and jazz music catalog is less known internationally, although it's in fact even larger, comprising around 60,000 unique tracks. It also incorporates the complete back-catalog of Panton, another Czechoslovak label launched in 1967 that existed independently until the late 1990s. Czech Up! Vol. 1 highlights a collection of tracks that were originally released in Czechoslovakia between 1966 and 1978 on the Supraphon and Panton labels. Vampisoul's Inigo Munster chose several psychedelic freakbeat favorites, while Lukas Machata of the Funky Czech-In website, an expert on Czechoslovak music, selected a variety of grooving soul, jazz, and pop nuggets. Many of these tracks have never been reissued before. Machata, a longtime sound engineer and graphic designer, is also responsible for the carefully processed digital remasters, the retro-style cover artwork, and the liner notes. The compilation ranges from the fuzz-soul of Komety, the lush down tempo disco of Bezinky, the Afro-influenced pop of Eva Pilarova, and Jazz Cellula's fierce funk through the Gondolan Brothers' gypsy beat introducing Jitka Zelenkova, the frantic garage rock of Blue Effect, Flamengo, and George & Beatovens, to schlager music star Karel Gott's atypical R&B outing, Mahagon's hypnotic fusion jazz-funk, and a rousing Barbarella interpretation by incomparable idol Waldemar Matuska. Czech Up! Vol. 1 also includes a well-known classic by the Golden Kids supergroup of Vaclav Neckař, Marta Kubisova, and Helena Vondrakova, as well as accomplished vocal acrobat Karel Cernoch's rendition of Stevie Wonder's Uptight (Everything's Alright) and Michal Prokop's confidently soulful Framus Five combo. The collection digs out undeservedly neglected bijoux by the graceful Helena Bleharova with the Gustav Brom Orchestra, the almost avant-gardist Petr and Jan Spaleny from Apollobeat, ex-Matadors shouter Viktor Sodoma, Pavel Novak and his Vox group, trumpet virtuoso Vaclav Tyfa with Josef Vobruba's all-star jazz-rock ensemble Konstelace, Discobolos, Josef Laufer & Their Majesties, The Bluesmen, jazzman Karelka with the Ferdinand Havlik Orchestra, the funky Flamingo group featuring Petremec with Marie Lady Soul Rottrova, and psychedelic pop band Atlantis, fronted by siblings Hana and Petr Ulrych. Grooves you can dance to, songs you can chill to, breaks you can rap to... 25 tracks you simply must hear.

Track List
  1. 01. Komety - Chain of Fools
  2. 02. Pavel Novák & Vox - Kocicí KRÁL Felix
  3. 03. Flamingo - Zlom Vaz
  4. 04. Discobolos - Kyvadlo
  5. 05. Golden Kids - Nestuj a Pojd (U NÁS Máme Mejdan)
  6. 06. Helena Blehárová - Závrat
  7. 07. Karel Cernoch - Už Tu Nesmím Zustat (Uptight, Everything's Alright)
  8. 08. Bezinky - Jedeme DÁL
  9. 09. Petr Spálený - Lesní Víla
  10. 10. Flamengo - Poprava Blond Holky
  11. 11. Blue Effect - Blue Taxi
  12. 12. Václav Týfa - Loutna Ceská: Domácí Vojna Mezi Telem a Duší
  13. 13. Atlantis - Nikdy Nebudu TVÁ
  14. 14. Eva Pilarová - Léto, Léto
  15. 15. Viktor Sodoma - Vysoká Hra
  16. 16. Jazz Cellula - Polobotka
  17. 17. Josef Laufer & Their Majesties - ÚTEK Z Hladomorny
  18. 18. Framus Five - Around and Around
  19. 19. Jitka Zelenková & the Gondolán Brothers - JÁ Nechci MÍT
  20. 20. George & Beatovens - Lež Bláznivého Básníka
  21. 21. the Bluesmen - Story O Velké Lásce
  22. 22. Karel Gott - I've Never Been So Young
  23. 23. Ferdinand Havlík Orchestra - Beat
  24. 24. Mahagon - Ve Svetle Petrolejky
  25. 25. Waldemar Matuška - Barbarella (An Angel Is Love)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 2-4 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 2-4 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.