DARK WAS THE NIGHT / VARIOUS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


2009 triple vinyl LP pressing of this highly-anticipated charity album with profits benefitting the Red Hot Organization. Dark Was the Night began three years ago with a casual conversation between Aaron and Bryce Dessner of the National and John Carlin (Red Hot founder). in discussing the project, they agreed it made sense not to do a "theme" album per se; but something that showcased the best in independent music, with an emphasis on traditional themes played and arranged in a contemporary way, and on songwriting, which is the strength of many of the artists featured here. a total of 32 exclusive tracks have been recorded for the compilation including cuts from Dirty Projectors & David Byrne, Bon Iver, Feist & Ben Gibbard, the National, the Decemberists, Iron & Wine, Sufjan Stevens and many others.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Knotty Pine
  2. Cello Song
  3. Train Song
  4. Brackett, WI
  5. Deep Blue Sea
  6. So Far Around The Bend
  7. Tightrope
  8. Feeling Good
  9. Dark Was The Night
  10. I Was Young When I Left Home
  11. Big Red Machine
  12. Happiness
  13. Sleepless
  14. Die
  15. Service Bell
  16. Blood
[Disc 2]
  1. Well-Alright
  2. Lenin
  3. Mimizan
  4. El Caporal
  5. Inspiration Information
  6. With A Girl Like You
  7. Blood Pt 2
  8. Hey, Snow White
  9. Gentle Hour
  10. Another Saturday
  11. Amazing Grace
  12. The Giant Of Illinois
  13. Lua
  14. When The Road Runs Out
  15. Love vs. Porn

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at support@merchbar.com!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.