PSYCHEDELIC MOODS OF THE DEEP Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Limited triple vinyl LP pressing in tip-on gatefold sleeve with liner notes. Taken from the original four-track master tapes. In addition to the superlative master takes, there are three sides of out-takes and alternates from the Deep original four-track session tapes. This set also marks the vinyl debut of all known recordings by Inner Sanctum (aka Hydro Pyro), another LSD trip project produced by Mark Barkan in 1966. Made with full co-operation of original Deep producers, Mark Barkan and Rusty Evans. A definitive example of the psychedelic sound. Expanded deluxe edition of The Deep's one and only album, originally released in 1966 and now well-established as a psychedelic classic. One night in a darkened Philadelphia studio, the Deep (Rusty Evans, songwriting partner and producer Mark Barkan, the legendary David Bromberg, whose credits include playing with Bob Dylan and many others, plus a bevy of talented musicians) laid down tempestuous garage punkers, sweetly-twisted ballads and ambiguous weirdness, all rife with hyper-psychedelic lyrical flashes of a rolling midnight expressway through the subconscious mind. A perfect representation of the psychedelic sound: free-form poetry, infectious drum beats, fuzzed out guitar, and playfully plucked bass (and vibes and tympani and so on), swirl together, coalescing into some of the most impressive psychedelic rock you'll hear. Cuts like 'Your Choice To Choose,' sound very Seeds-like or proto-Velvet Underground, Lou Reed snarl and all; others like 'Shadows On The Wall' and 'Wake Up and Find Me' are haunting acid ballads: the whole point of the album was to thoroughly explore the hallucinatory agony and ecstasy of a 12-hour Technicolor dream... although the end result is more amphetamine edgy than acid-soaked trippy. The Deep Psychedelic Moods pre-dates its closest kindred spirit in sound and energy (albeit not subject matter): The Velvet Underground and Nico came along five months later, and the world of music shifted on its axis-but too late for the Deep.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Color Dreams
  2. Pink Ether
  3. When Rain Is Black
  4. It's All a Part of Me
  5. Turned On
  6. Psychedelic Moon
  7. Shadows On The Wall
  8. Crystal Nite
  9. Trip #76
  10. Wake Up And Find Me
  11. Your Choice To Choose
  12. On Off-Off On
[Disc 2]
  1. When Rain is Black (Alternates)
  2. Trip #76 (Takes 1/2/3)
  3. Psychedelic Moon (Alternate version)
  4. Your Choice To Choose (Takes 1-4)
  5. Trip #76 (Alternate version)
  6. Black, White and Gray (Demo Version of "When Rain Is Black")
  7. The House Of Yesterday
  8. ID
  9. Hydro-Pyro
  10. Purple Floating (false start + take)
  11. Snow Petals
  12. Little Tin Soldier
  13. The Man Who Shot Your Mother
  14. Snow Petals (Alternate)
[Disc 3]
  1. Color Dreams (Alternate version)
  2. Pink Ether (Intro + Take 1)
  3. It's All A Part of Me (Take 1)
  4. Turned On (Take 1-2)
  5. Shadows on the Wall
  6. Crystal Night (False starts + Alternate version)
  7. Trip #76 (Take 4)
  8. Trip #76 (Take 5)
  9. Wake up and Find Me (Intro + Take 1)
  10. Your Choice to Choose (Alternate version)
  11. Off On Off On (Alternate version)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.