Gecko Turner THAT PLACE BY THE THING WITH THE COOL NAME Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Vinyl LP pressing. 2015 release, the fourth album from Gecko Turner. That Place By The Thing With The Cool Name is a marvelous journey. A globetrotter lifestyle and the opportunity to share experiences with musicians from remote places are the reason for the exuberant worldliness of this album. There is an incredible band playing on the album. Guitarist Rafa Prieto and bass player Dr. Robelto, whose Fender Bass is the backbone of the full sound of the Afrobeatnik Orchestra, have played on most of the tracks, with the participation of musicians from Texas, Nigeria, Brazil, Cuba, Guinea, England and Extremedura, transforming what Gecko once defined as his "soniquete". But despite all these flavors, the album still sounds distinctly like Gecko Turner and comes packed with his unique and unorthodox interpretation of Soul. The songs cross the frontier of an imaginary space, that "imaginary South" that can be found on the Guadiana/Mississippi River, which has it's capital in the American deep south and which shares borders with Nigeria, Brazil, Jamaica, Cuba and Latin Harlem. In this imaginary space the spirits of Coltrane and Lou Reed roam freely and proudly make appearances on some of the songs, especially the last two on the album. That Place By The Thing With The Cool Name is not just a brilliant name, it is an overwhelmingly good album, created with the humility that only the very best have.

Track List
  1. I´ll Do That
  2. Bee Eater
  3. Corazón De Jesús
  4. Chicken Wire
  5. Did You Ever Wonder Why?
  6. Here Comes Friday
  7. Oye, Muchacha
  8. Extremely Good
  9. Little Sonny
  10. Medium Rare
  11. Juanita
  12. Rockin' Diddley
  13. This Is The One
  14. The Strange Adventures Of Two Runaway Elephants In Kentish

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Out of Stock
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.