Heaven And SWEETER AS THE YEARS ROLL BY Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Heaven And are Tony Buck (drums, percussion); Steve Heather (drums, marimba, percussion); Martin Siewert (guitars, lap steel, electronics, keyboards); Zeitblom (bass, keyboards); Alexander Hacke (vocals). Sweeter As the Years Roll By is their debut full-length release for the Staubgold label and it's a phrase which many will associate with wine. The music of the 21st century has evolved to become the proverbial "old wine in new skins" - since remixing, cut 'n' paste, and other methods of producing new culture by using the old, have become available to almost everyone. Because of the "digital revolution," the layman can now easily become the mixer and magician. The music of Heaven And is inspired by the diverse music styles all conglomerated in our culture - elements of the diverse musical styles from the last five decades are clearly discernible. Listening to the first track "As If a Star," one can make out a vast range of influences: A psychedelic backwards guitar cuts through the whirr of a cymbal reminiscent of jazz and trance music, while in the second half, a layer of guitar sounds hovers over it all, which reminds one of the sounds emanating from the Fender amps of the bands belonging to the so-called Americana movement. At the same time, the track comes across as an update of those stoic monster tracks of early '70s Krautrock. (And when it comes to minimalism, the bass line beats any of Holger Czukay's in terms of sparseness.) "Bring Back Those Happy Days" with it's manic, almost exploding guitar and it's rompish, hippie-like percussion orgy, is quite another cup of tea. Art Ensemble of Chicago meets Keiji Haino? Or Pharoah Sanders meets Sonny Sharrock meets Boredoms? in the course of the album's duration, Heaven And take their listeners on an unsettling roller coaster ride of styles. Sometimes, elements of the blues stick out, while at other times, elements of heavy metal, post-rock, avant garde, free jazz or noise are up front, so that the listener keeps wondering what (in heaven's name) it is s/he's hearing. One clue to this is the list of participants on this project. One look at it makes it clear that this is not music concocted by some part-time musician at his laptop, in which the fissures between the elements are still evident through the electronic glue. In Heaven And, they use musical forms which through their overuse have almost all turned into clichés and fill them with new ideas. These four individuals create their music without making the slightest compromise, sounding only like they themselves could in this constellation - which renders all attempts at describing their music futile. Their music teems with energy and everything has been played in real time (thus harking back to the production methods of an era in which the computer was not yet the supreme ruler in the studio). Real music, recast.

Track List
  1. Later The Sky Is Still Clear... - Balanescu, Alexander
  2. Tonika Oase - Groenland Orchester
  3. Watch The Stars - Mapstation
  4. Plays Albert Ayler - Ehlers, Ekkehard
  5. Ohne Titel - Institut Fuer Feinmotorik
  6. Ruhig Blut B - Reuber
  7. Mixed States Uncoded - Toral, Rafael
  8. Kolner Brett 7 - To Rococo Rot
  9. Kiebitzreihe I - Adler, Gunter & Felix Kubin
  10. Mohneuler - FS:Blumm
  11. Urlauber - Sack & Joseph Suchy
  12. Surfacing - Ambarchi, Oren & Martin NG
  13. Koln Olpe - Shlammpeitziger
  14. Plays John Cassavetes - Ehlers, Ekkehard
  15. Tonika Oase - Groenland Orchester

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in up to 8 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in up to 8 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at support@merchbar.com!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.