KIM FOWLEYS PSYCHEDELIC DOGS: DETROIT INVASION Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Vinyl LP pressing. Posthumous 2015 release from the legendary producer, Svengali, songwriter and music industry mover and shaker (mostly shaker). The album is a song cycle with a narrative that addresses how Detroit, and the world in general, has changed in the last 15 years. The band also includes Outrageous Cherry founder Matthew Smith and Destroy All Monsters founder Cary Loren, both longtime fans of Fowley. Simply releasing this wooly thing is a labor of love. It's a live record and it's a little bit rough, but it's also charming in it's own psychedelic way. The LP was recorded almost three years ago in Hamtramck at the Polish National Alliance Hall. Many ideas are proffered at the same time, with Fowley delivering a West Coast patter not too dissimilar from Beatnik, but philosophically closer to Rat Fink than Kerouac.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. You've Really Got A Hold On Me (The Miracles)
  2. Please, Mr. Postman (The Marvelettes)
  3. Buttered Popcorn (The Supremes)
  4. You Got What It Takes (Barrett Strong)
  5. Camel Walk (Saundra Mallett / The Vandellas)
  6. Wherever I Lay My Hat (Marvin Gaye)
  7. Merry-go-round (Eddie Holland)
  8. They Rode Through The Valley (Mickey Woods)
  9. You Beat Me To The Punch (Mary Wells)
  10. Don’t Let Him Shop Around (Debbie Dean)
  11. It (Ron & Bill)
  12. Lover (Sherry Taylor / Singin' Sammy Ward)
  13. Come To Me (Marv Johnson)
  14. You Never Miss A Good Thing (Eugene Remus)
  15. Everybody Knew It (Singin' Sammy Ward)
  16. Stretch (The Contours)
  17. Same Old Story (Mickey McCullers)
  18. Request Of A Fool (The Downbeats)
  19. No Love (Mable John)
  20. For This (Gino Parks)
  21. He Lifted Me (Gospel Stars, The)
  22. What Is A Man (Without A Woman?)(Henry Lumpkin)
  23. Jesus Loves (Rev Columbus Mann)
  24. Motor City (The Satintones)
  25. Little Water Boy (Little Stevie Wonder)
[Disc 2]
  1. Money (That's What I Want) (Barrett Strong)
  2. I Heard It Through The Grapevine (Live) (Marvin Gaye)
  3. Whole Lotta Woman (The Contours)
  4. Fingertips (Little Stevie Wonder)
  5. What Makes You Love Him (Singin' Sammy Ward)
  6. Shop Around (The Miracles)
  7. Congo Twist [part 1] (Twistin' Kings)
  8. I've Got A Notion (Henry Lumpkin)
  9. I Want A Guy (The Supremes)
  10. Snake Walk (Swinging Tigers)
  11. Embraceable You (The Miracles)
  12. Solid Sender (Chico Leverette)
  13. But I'm Afraid (Debbie Dean)
  14. Real Good Loving (Richard Wylie)
  15. I Know How It Feels (The Satintones)
  16. True Love (Herman Griffin)
  17. Please, Mr. Kennedy (Mickey Woods)
  18. That's No Lie (Gino Parks)
  19. Small Sad Sam (Bob Kayli)
  20. Take Me (Mable John)
  21. Bye Bye Baby (Mary Wells)
  22. Custer's Last Man (Pop Corn / The Mohawks)
  23. Beechwood 45789 (The Marvelettes)
  24. Sleep (Little One) (Herman Griffin)
  25. Stubborn Kind Of Fellow (Marvin Gaye)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.