Hanno Leichtmann UNFINISHED PORTRAIT OF YOUTH TODAY Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Hanno Leichtmann has long been one of the most prolific protagonists of Berlin's electronic music scene and beyond; as an experimental percussionist and electronic artist Leichtmann has released several albums under his given name, under such aliases as Static and The Vulva String Quartett, and in bands like Groupshow (with Jan Jelinek and Andrew Pekler) and Denseland (with David Moss and Hannes Strobl) on labels like Karaoke Kalk, m=minimal, Dekorder, and Staubgold. Leichtmann also composed and produced the soundtrack to Christoph Schlingensief's The African Twintowers (2007), the first DVD edition of which will follow this LP in summer 2015, five years after Schlingensief's tragic death. In addition to his musical work, Leichtmann also curates conceptual music festivals, including My Favourite Thing in 2008 and Letra/Tone in 2014. In 2013 he released Minimal Studies, on which he began building tracks using very short loops from various sample sources. This LP is an expanded reissue of Leichtmann's 2013 contribution to The Tapeworm's tape series (TTW 059CS), for which he browsed the remaining 30-plus cassettes of his once-huge collection, took little snippets of his favorite songs, ran them through a modular synthesizer system, and created about 40 short pieces, all about one minute and 30 seconds long. Leichtmann: They are highly influenced by and, at the same time, an homage to: John Oswald's Plunderphonics, Stock, Hausen & Walkman's Me 7, and, above all, Yasuaki Shimizu's Music for Commercials. Originally released in a limited tape edition of 200 copies, Unfinished Portrait of Youth Today is now available on LP for the first time, with the addition of six previously unreleased tracks. All music created by Hanno Leichtmann using tapes, Sony WM-D6C, modular system, Telefunken EQS, and Lexicon LXP-5. Recorded at Static Music, Berlin. Mastered for vinyl by Kassian Troyer. Artwork by Stephan Mathieu and Caro Mikalef. Pressed on 180-gram vinyl. Includes download code.

Track List
  1. A1. First
  2. A2. Spring
  3. A3. Ninepence
  4. A4. Skate
  5. A5. Angel
  6. A6. Chase
  7. A7. Delos
  8. A8. Jingle
  9. A9. Mountain
  10. A10. Run
  11. A11. Snow
  12. A12. Sad
  13. A13. Hope
  14. A14. Joy
  15. B1. Next
  16. B2. Moon
  17. B3. Heartbeat
  18. B4. Play
  19. B5. Flutes
  20. B6. Pain
  21. B7. Wait
  22. B8. Omen
  23. B9. Wave
  24. B10. Glass
  25. B11. Light
  26. B12. End
  27. B13. Stars
  28. B14. Tape
  29. B15. Last

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in up to 8 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in up to 8 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at support@merchbar.com!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.