Lizzy Mercier Descloux ZULU ROCK Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Lizzy Mercier Descloux ZULU ROCK Vinyl Record

Lizzy Mercier Descloux ZULU ROCK Vinyl Record
Limited vinyl LP pressing including digital download that contains full album plus five bonus tracks. Digitally remastered edition of this album from the genre-hopping French artist. In the course of three albums, Lizzy Mercier Descloux, the rogue poet, artist, and singer-songwriter, travelled on a musical voyage from Manhattan (1979 debut Press Color) to The Bahamas (1981 follow-up Mambo Nassau) and apartheid South Africa (1984's Zulu Rock) - a controversial cultural boycott in protest of the nation's racially divided society. One place Descloux had never visited was the pop charts, but that changed when "Mais Où Sont Passées Les Gazelles? (Where Have The Gazelles Gone?)" - a reworking of a South African Shangaan disco hit - went all the way to the top spot in her native France, giving her a platform and a profile in the land she'd fled many years before. Recorded at Satbel Studios in Johannesburg, the album followed what her mentor Michel Esteban describes as "an extraordinary adventure" through eastern Africa following the footsteps of 19th century poet Rimbaud through Sudan, Ethiopia, the East Coast.

Track List
  1. It's All My Imagination
  2. Abyssinia
  3. Mais Où Sont Passées Les Gazelles?
  4. Dolby Sisters Saliva Brothers
  5. L'éclipse
  6. Les Dents de L'amour
  7. Wakwazulu Kwezizulu Rock
  8. Momo on My Mind
  9. I'm Liquor
  10. Queen of Overdub Kisses
  11. Sun Jive
  12. All the Same
  13. Pénélope (French Version) (Bonus Track)
  14. Confidente de la Nuit (French Version) (Bonus Track)
  15. Cri (French Version) (Bonus Track)
  16. Tous Pareils (French Version) (Bonus Track)
  17. Wakwazulu Kwzizulu Rock (French Version) (Bonus Track)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in up to 8 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in up to 8 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.