Lizzy Mercier Desloux PRESS COLOR Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Lizzy Mercier Desloux PRESS COLOR Vinyl Record

Lizzy Mercier Desloux PRESS COLOR Vinyl Record
Limited double blue vinyl LP pressing housed in a deluxe Stoughton gatefold “Tip-On” jacket. Includes 18x24 poster. Digitally remastered edition includes digital download plus liner notes by Vivien Goldman. Lizzy Mercier Descloux may have come of age in Paris, but it's in New York's Lower East Side that she really came alive. The French punk pioneer, a friend of Patti Smith and Richard Hell, moved to New York in 1977 and soon immersed herself in avant-garde Poetry, Performance Art, and Punk music. Closely associated with the founders of ZE Records, Descloux released her debut album, Press Color, in 1979, revealing a Punk-Funk sound that positioned her as the French answer to the UK group The Slits or New York's own ESG. Just as The Slits gave "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" a makeover fit for warehouse parties on their celebrated Cut LP, Descloux's album revealed a penchant for the unexpected cover version too. It kicks off with a brilliantly rhythmic take on The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown's ‘Fire’-a hit, like Marvin Gaye's in 1968. There's also a version of Lalo Schifrin's theme from ‘Mission Impossible’ that appears to predate the breakbeat scene by a good 20 years. Elsewhere, we hear echoes of Serge Gainsbourg's Afrobeat-influenced work, Blondie's disco-inflected Punk, and Talking Heads' world music-inspired Art Pop.

Track List
  1. Fire
  2. Torso Corso
  3. Mission Impossible
  4. No Golden Throat
  5. Jim on the Move
  6. Wawa
  7. Tumour
  8. Aya Mood
  9. Mission Impossible 2.0
  10. Rosa Vertov
  11. Decryptated
  12. Herpes Simplex
  13. Larousse Baron Bic
  14. Tso Xin Yu Xin
  15. Nina Con Un Tercer Ojo
  16. Birdy Num-Num
  17. Hard Boiled Babe
  18. Morning High

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.