SOUND OF MCALMONT & BUTLER Vinyl Record - UK Import has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Deluxe edition includes vinyl LP pressing, four track 12" vinyl EP, CD featuring 15 bonus tracks, DVD and 32 page book of notes and photos. In early 1995, former Suede guitarist Bernard Butler started searching for someone to sing a new composition of his. After some false starts, he was paired with David McAlmont, and they recorded the instant classic "Yes", a #8 hit in May that year. Follow-up single "You Do" went Top 20, and the album followed in November. For this 20th anniversary deluxe book set edition of this much-loved classic, the album has been remastered by Bernard Butler himself from the original tapes. The DVD showcases the promo videos for 'Yes' and 'You Do', as well as the duo's three appearances on Top Of The Pops, and their legendary appearance on Later... with Jools Holland. In the bonus features, filmed in June 2015, David and Bernard discuss the writing and recording of the album for an hour, and then perform acoustic versions of three songs.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Yes [Full Version]
  2. What's the Excuse This Time?
  3. The Right Thing
  4. Although
  5. Don't Call It Soul
  6. Disappointment / Interval
  7. The Debitor
  8. How About You?
  9. Tonight
  10. You'll Lose a Good Thing
  11. You Do [Full Length Version]
[Disc 2]
  1. Yes [Demo]
  2. Yes [Four Track Demo]
  3. Yes [Instrumental]
  4. You Do [Demo]
  5. You Do [Mix 1]
  6. Don't Call It Soul [Demo]
  7. Don't Call It Soul [Original Single Version]*
  8. How About You? [Original Single Version]*
  9. Tonight [Oompah Demo]
  10. You Do [BBC Radio 1 Simon Mayo Session, 17.10.95]
  11. Walk on [BBC Radio 1 Simon Mayo Session, 17.10.95]
  12. Tonight (Overnight)
  13. What's the Excuse This Time? [2015 Remix]
  14. Yes [Bernard Butler & Nigel Godrich 1995 Remix]
  15. The Argument
[Disc 3]
  1. Yes (Promo Video)
  2. You Do (Promo Video)
  3. Yes [Top of the Pops, 18.5.95]
  4. Yes [Top of the Pops, 25.5.95]
  5. You Do [Later... with Jools Holland, 10.6.95]
  6. You Do [Top of the Pops, 2.11.95]
  7. David McAlmont and Bernard Butler Discuss the Making of the Album
  8. Don't Call It Soul [Live Acoustic 2015]
  9. How About You [Live Acoustic 2015]
  10. You Do [Live Acoustic 2015]
[Disc 4]
  1. Yes [Full Version]
  2. What's the Excuse This Time?
  3. The Right Thing
  4. Although
  5. Don't Call It Soul
  6. Disappointment / Interval
  7. The Debitor
  8. How About You?
  9. Tonight
  10. You'll Lose a Good Thing
  11. You Do [Full Length Version]
[Disc 5]
  1. Yes
  2. You Do
  3. Yes [Demo]
  4. You Do [Demo]

United Kingdom Release
This version of the record was released for the audience in the United Kingdom and has been imported to the United States.

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Delivery: 2-4 weeks (Backordered Item)
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 2-4 weeks.
International: This item ships to 25 countries! Learn more
Delivery outside the US may take up to 24 business days.
United States, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

See all McAlmont & Butler merch

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.