The Monochrome Set CONTRAST BRILLIANCE: SESSIONS & SINGLES 1 Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Limited blue vinyl LP pressing including poster. Recorded between 1979 and 1981 and originally released in 1983 this hugely rewarding record acted as a roundup of the group's career to date and was of immeasurable value to fans. It's aged well, too. Comprising of A and B sides from their Rough Trade released singles plus extracts from sessions for Radio 1, Capital Radio and EMI Records, this LP contains unique versions of such classic tracks as 'The Jet Set Junta' and 'He's Frank (Slight Return)'. Oddities, and jocular moments run through the album, including John Peel introducing 'Fat Fun' and thinking aloud that those Monochrome boys might be having a pop at him. The fact that it includes a wish list of the band's best songs to this point in their career is another reason to recommend it. This 1983 compilation is a front-to-back joy, fast, restless and perfectly sequenced. It plays like a cohesive album.

Track List
  1. Eine Symphonie Des Grauens
  2. Jet Set Junta
  3. Love Zombies
  4. Silicon Carne
  5. Ruling Class
  6. Viva Death Row
  7. Man With the Black Moustache
  8. He's Frank (Slight Return)
  9. Fun For All the Family
  10. Lester Leaps In
  11. Ici Les Enfants
  12. Fat Fun
  13. Alphaville
  14. Avanti (Ten Don'ts for Honeymooners)
  15. Reach For Your Gun
  16. Sweet Chariots Él

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.