MONOCLES / HIGHER ELEVATION SPIDER THE FLY & THE BOOGIE MAN Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Most people were introduced to the strange psychedelic sound of The Monocles (later The Higher Elevation) thanks to the inclusion of the bizarre "The Spider & The Fly" and "The Diamond Mine" on the legendary 1979 compilation Pebbles Vol. 3 (the "acid-punk" volume). These youngsters from Colorado formed in 1964 and were famous for driving to gigs in a custom Cadillac hearse. Between 1965 and 1968, they released a bunch of singles for different labels: Chicory, Denco, Liberty... This retrospective collection includes the best of their 45 sides plus some tracks previously unreleased on vinyl. You'll find demented psychsploitation ("The Spider & The Fly," "The Diamond Mine") crude garage-psych ("Psychedelic (That's Where It's At)," "Odyssey"), sunshine-pop/jangly folk-rock ("Summer Skies," "Here Comes Sunshine"), teen garage/frat-rock ("Boogie Man," "You Don't Know"), pop-psych ("Crazy Bicycle"), and more. Includes insert with detailed liner notes and rare photos.

Track List
  1. A1. The Monocles - Psychedelic (That's Where It's At)
  2. A2. The Monocles - Boogie Man
  3. A3. The Higher Elevation - Crazy Bicycle
  4. A4. The Higher Elevation - Summer Skies
  5. A5. The Monocles - You Don't Know
  6. A6. The Higher Elevation - Thoughts of Lila
  7. A7. The Higher Elevation - Country Club Affair
  8. A8. The Higher Elevation - Odyssey
  9. A9. The Monocles - The Spider & the Fly
  10. B1. The Higher Elevation - The Diamond Mine
  11. B2. The Monocles - What Is It
  12. B3. The Monocles - Treat Me Nice
  13. B4. The Higher Elevation - Highway 101
  14. B5. The Higher Elevation - Here Comes Sunshine
  15. B6. The Monocles - Heartbreak Hill
  16. B7. The Monocles - Where Is My Life
  17. B8. The Monocles - Psychedelic (That's Where It's At) (Instrumental)
  18. B9. The Monocles - Boogie Man (Alternate Version)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.