NEW BREED TAPE COMPILATION / VARIOUS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


The "New Breed Tape Compilation" was originally released on cassette format in 1989 by Freddy Alva and Chaka Malik (two hardcore fans from Queens, NY). The compilation and accompanying twenty-page booklet chronicled the New York Hardcore music scene from the years 1987-1989. Only 700 copies of the cassette and booklet were produced, which Freddy and Chaka assembled by hand and distributed themselves in true D.I.Y. fashion. The New Breed Tape soon became an underground classic and helped to draw attention to the new bands and scene involved in the "second wave" of NYHC. Several bootleg versions surfaced over the past two decades but these never did the original justice. This is the first time New Breed is being officially reissued on vinyl and CD format. The digipak CD is a 6 panel layout with a 20 page booklet. The 2xLP version contains full color sleeve, the original 8.5" x 11" twenty page booklet, plus an 11" x 11" two-sided insert with liner notes and photo collage. It also has four bonus tracks not on the CD. All tracks were taken from the original source, re-mastered and digitized specifically for this special edition release. Additional era photographs and liner notes are also included in the packaging. Long live NYHC!

Track List
  1. Never Ending Game - Absolution
  2. Maximum Security - Life's Blood
  3. Youth Enrage - Life's Blood
  4. Stick to It - Life's Blood
  5. The Hardway - Outburst
  6. Thin Ice - Outburst
  7. Controlled - Outburst
  8. In Anger - Our Gang
  9. My Tomorrow - Our Gang
  10. Without a Home - Our Gang
  11. Failure - Collapse
  12. Try - Pressure Release
  13. The Line - Pressure Release
  14. Don't Give Up - Breakdown
  15. What It Is - Breakdown
  16. No Way to Live - True Colors
  17. Finding It Hard - Show of Force
  18. True Vision - Direct Approach
  19. No Respect - Direct Approach
  20. Back Track - Raw Deal
  21. Wall of Hate - Raw Deal
  22. Disinherited - Abomb-A-Nation
  23. Something Must Be Wrong - Abomb-A-Nation
  24. Not Kosher - Abomb-A-Nation
  25. Seasons - Beyond
  26. Someday - Beyond
  27. Reach Out - Direct
  28. One Life - Direct
  29. Down for the Count - Uppercut
  30. Am I Clear - Uppercut
  31. The Oppressed - Fit of Anger
  32. Revealing the Truth - Fit of Anger
  33. We All Learn - Discipline
  34. Something More - Bad Trip
  35. Supremist - Under Pressure
  36. Dust - Stand Proud
  37. Rise Up - All for One
  38. Return - All for One
  39. Dennis: The Voice of God - Life's Blood
  40. Never Make a Change - Life's Blood
  41. It's Not in Your Heart/Resist Control - Life's Blood

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in up to 8 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in up to 8 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.