Nick Cave GOOD SON Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Nick Cave GOOD SON Vinyl Record

Nick Cave GOOD SON Vinyl Record
The Seeds followed up Tender Prey with the equally brilliant but generally calmer Good Son. At the time of it's release there were more than a few comments that Cave had somehow softened or sold out, given how he was more intent on exploring his dark, cabaret pop stylings than his thrashy, explosive side. This not only ignored the constant examples of such quieter material all the way back to from Her to Eternity, but Cave's own constant threads of lyrical darkness, whether in terms of romance or something all the more distressing. This said, the softly crooning group vocals and sweet strings on the opening "Foi Na Cruz" certainly would catch some off guard. The title track itself captured the overall mood of the album, a retelling of the Bible's prodigal son story from the other son, the one who stayed at home and did what he was meant to do. The elegant, reflective "Lucy" and the staccato then sweeping "Lament" are two further high points, but the flat-out winners come dead center. "The Weeping Song," a magnificent duet between Cave and Bargeld, starts out sounding a bit like Gene Pitney's "Something's Gotta Hold of My Heart," which the Seeds covered on Pricks, before shading into it's own powerful, blasted drama. "The Ship Song," meanwhile, equals if not overtakes the Scott Walker ballads Cave so clearly is inspired by, a soaring, tearjerking declaration of intense love that's simply amazing.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Foi Na Cruz
  2. the Good Son
  3. Sorrow's Child
  4. the Weeping Song
  5. the Ship Song
  6. the Hammer Song
  7. Lament
  8. the Witness Song
  9. Lucy
[Disc 2]
  1. Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 6: The Good Son)
  2. the Weeping Song
  3. Sorrow's Child
  4. Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 6: The Good Son)
  5. the Weeping Song
  6. the Ship Song
  7. Lament
  8. the Witness Song
  9. Lucy
  10. the Train Song
  11. Cocks 'N' Asses
  12. Helpless
  13. Foi Na Cruz
  14. the Good Son
  15. Sorrow's Child
  16. the Weeping Song
  17. the Ship Song
  18. the Hammer Song
  19. Lament
  20. the Witness Song
  21. Lucy
  22. the Train Song
  23. Cocks 'N' Asses
  24. Helpless

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.