SAM PHILLIPS: THE MAN WHO INVENTED ROCK 'N' ROLL Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Limited triple vinyl LP pressing. Sam Phillips: The Man Who Invented Rock ‘n’ Roll was curated by Peter Guralnick (Last Train to Memphis: The Rise of Elvis Presley) and accompanies his landmark Sam Phillips biography of the same title. These tracks are a hand-picked selection of Sam Phillips productions that illustrate Phillips’ unique (sounds and sense) approach to recording and his cosmic genius. A celebration of the period (1950 - 1961) in which Sam played a revolutionary role in the music business, this collection includes big hits, near misses and never-was tracks that encompass blues, country, gospel, R&B, and the birth of rock ‘n’ roll.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Jerry Lee Lewis Hello Hello Baby
  2. Howlin' Wolf Moanin' at Midnight
  3. The Prisonaires Just Walkin' in the Rain
  4. Howlin' Wolf How Many More Years
  5. Jackie Brenston and His Delta Cats (Ike Turner) Rocket 88
  6. Joe Hill Louis Gotta Let You Go
  7. The Jones Brothers Every Night
  8. Howard Seratt Troublesome Waters
  9. Jimmy and Walter Easy
[Disc 2]
  1. Jimmy and Walter Before Long
  2. Willie Nix Lonesome Bedroom
  3. Johnny Cash Big River
  4. Carl Perkins Boppin' the Blues
  5. Doctor Ross The Boogie Disease
  6. Elvis Presley Baby Let's Play House
  7. Roy Orbison Ooby Dooby
  8. Little Junior's Blue Flames Love My Baby
  9. Carl Perkins Matchbox
[Disc 3]
  1. Jerry Lee Lewis Whole Lotta Shakin' Going on
  2. Billy Riley Flyin' Saucers Rock & Roll
  3. B.B. King She's Dynamite
  4. Howlin' Wolf Mr. Highway Man (Cadillac Daddy)
  5. Rufus Thomas Tiger Man
  6. Sonny Burgess Red-Headed Woman
  7. Jerry Lee Lewis End of the Road
  8. Charlie Rich Who Will the Next Fool Be?
  9. Elvis Presley Mystery Train
[Disc 4]
  1. John Prine How Lucky
  2. Little Junior's Blue Flames Feelin' Good
  3. Jerry Lee Lewis You're the Only Star in My Blue Heaven
  4. Carl Perkins Turn Around
  5. Jimmy DeBerry Time Has Made a Change
  6. Warren Smith Miss Froggie
  7. Willie Nix Seems Like a Million Years
  8. Billy "The Kid" Emerson When It Rains It Pours
  9. Elvis Presley That's All Right
[Disc 5]
  1. Jerry Lee Lewis You Win Again
  2. Charlie Feathers I've Been Deceived
  3. Sleepy John Estes Rats in My Kitchen
  4. D.A. Hunt Lonesome Ol' Jail
  5. Ernie Chaffin Feelin' Low
  6. Charlie Rich Sittin' and Thinkin'
  7. Johnny Cash Hey Porter
  8. Carl Perkins Movie Magg
  9. Harmonica Frank Rockin' Chair Daddy
[Disc 6]
  1. Roscoe Gordon Booted
  2. James Cotton Cotton Crop Blues
  3. Joe Hill Louis Dorothy Mae
  4. Little Junior's Blue Flames Mystery Train
  5. Carl Perkins Blue Suede Shoes
  6. Warren Smith Rock and Roll Ruby
  7. Roy Orbison Go Go Go
  8. Jerry Lee Lewis Settin' the Woods on Fire
  9. Million Dollar Quartet I Shall Not Be Moved
  10. Elvis Presley Tryin' to Get to You

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.