Rob Mazurek / Exploding Star Orchestra GALACTIC PARABLES 1 Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Rob Mazurek / Exploding Star Orchestra GALACTIC PARABLES 1 Vinyl Record

Rob Mazurek / Exploding Star Orchestra GALACTIC PARABLES 1 Vinyl Record
Composer, cornetist, electronic & acoustic sound specialist and musical director Rob Mazurek leads his largest regular ensemble, the Exploding Star Orchestra through one of his most ambitious recordings. While Galactic Parables: Volume 1 is a self-contained cosmos, marked by colliding melodic lines and startlingly beautiful passages, as the title indicates, it's part of a larger work. Ever since Exploding Star Orchestra's debut recording, Mazurek has been gradually building an epic science fiction opera inspired by the writings of Samuel R. Delany and Stanislaw Lem. With Galactic Parables his vast speculative realm is coming more clearly into focus with an apocalyptic vision of alternate universes, machine reproduction run amuck, and the colonization of distant planets. Galactic Parables "is the first record where we're getting close to hitting on the libretto for this future opera, " says Mazurek, who by both inclination and geography is linked to a constellation of Chicago avant-garde pioneers. Ultimately what makes the record so enthralling on both the flight into the cosmos and the return journey is that the Exploding Star Orchestra brings together a creatively charged cast of improvisers: Recorded live at the Sant'Anna Arresi Jazz Festival 2013 "Ai Confini tra Sardegna e Jazz" on August 28, 2013 and Recorded live at the Chicago Cultural Center on October 18, 2013 by Ken Christianson, assisted by Deundeun Cho.

Track List
  1. Free Agents of Sound [Sardegna, Italy] 20:10
  2. Make Way to the City / the Arc of Slavery #72 [Sardegna, Italy] 19:22
  3. The Arc of Slavery #72 (Part 2) [Sardegna, Italy] 06:45
  4. Helmets of Our Poisonous Thoughts #16 / Awaken the World [Sardegna, Italy] 06:54
  5. Collections of Time [Sardegna, Italy] 10:05
  6. Free Agents of Sound [Chicago, Illinois] 11:26
  7. Collections of Time [Chicago, Illinois] 07:27
  8. Make Way to the City [Chicago, Illinois] 21:45
  9. The Arc of Slavery #72 [Chicago, Illinois] 05:54
  10. Helmets of Our Poisonous Thoughts #16 [Chicago, Illinois] 06:22
  11. Awaken the World #41 [Chicago, Illinois] 05:35

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.