ROCKSTEADY TAKING OVER ORANGE STREET / VAR Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


LP version. Rocksteady took over Orange Street, Kingston, Jamaica around 1966, the same time that an extreme heat wave hit the Jamaican Island. Some say the previous jerky ska rhythms proved too strenuous of an activity to partake in during the all night sound systems, so it proved a winning formula to slow the beat down to a more leisurely pace. Whatever the reasons were, this two-year period that ran until 1968 would see some of the power escape from the big three producers - Clement "Coxsone" Dodd, Prince Buster, and Duke Reid - who up to that period ruled the airwaves. It was time to make room for a new wave of up-and-coming producers who also had something to offer the people. So sit back and enjoy some rock steady straight from the dances of Jamaica. Includes tracks by Roy Shirley, Glen Adams, Lester Sterling, Uniques, Errol Dunkley, George Dekker, Don T. Lee, Webber Sisters, Alva Lewis. CD includes two bonus tracks: "Wall Flower" by Ken Rose and "I Remember" by Glen Adams.

Track List
  1. Love and Devotion - Roy Shirley
  2. If You Don't Know - Roy Shirley
  3. Taking Over Orange Street - Glen Adams
  4. It Might As Well Be Spring - Lester Sterling
  5. Girl of My Dreams - the Uniques
  6. Good Ambition - Roy Shirley
  7. Soul Voyage - Lester Sterling
  8. Hold Down Miss Winey - Glen Adams
  9. I'm Going Home - Errol Dunkley
  10. Foey Man - George Dekker
  11. Hooray - the Uniques
  12. It's Reggae Time - Don Lee
  13. My World - the Webber Sisters
  14. Revelation - Alva Lewis

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 8 weeks or longer
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 8 weeks or longer.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.