Roland Alphonso HUMPTY DUMPTY: SINGLES COLLECTION 1960-62 Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Roland Alphonso HUMPTY DUMPTY: SINGLES COLLECTION 1960-62 Vinyl Record

Roland Alphonso HUMPTY DUMPTY: SINGLES COLLECTION 1960-62 Vinyl Record
Cuban born Jamaican saxophonist Roland Alphonso was one of the island's most beloved musicians, a founding member of The Skatalites - perhaps the most important group in the development of Ska and, in turn, reggae music. By the age of 17 Alphonso was gigging regularly and by 21 he started recording regularly as a session musician. Working with such important producers as Clement "Sir Coxsone" Dodd and Duke Reid, Alphonso played on dozens of R&B, mento, and early Ska sessions, as well as doing arrangement work. By 1960 he had begun cutting singles with his own groups as a leader, including The Alley Cats and The City Slickers while still working as a sideman. This crucial collection culls together Alphonso's finest singles in the early Ska era, just before the creation of the Studio One group, The Skatalites. Essential early Ska from one of Jamaica's most talented musicians, collected on 180 gram vinyl.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Bridge View Aka Bridgeview Shuffle
  2. Humpty Dumpty
  3. Corn Bread and Butter
  4. Feel So Fine
  5. Mean to Me
  6. Shuffling Jug
  7. Another Moses
  8. Hully Gully Rock
  9. Blackberry Brandy
[Disc 2]
  1. Marjorie
  2. Sweetie Pie
  3. Green Door
  4. My Forty Five
  5. Proof Rum
  6. We'll Meet
  7. Back Beat
  8. Four Corners of the World
  9. Romantic Shuffle

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 2-4 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 2-4 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.