Sam Amidon BUT THIS CHICKEN PROVED FALSEHEARTED Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Limited translucent blue colored vinyl LP pressing includes digital download card with bonus tracks. Before Sam Amidon's acclaimed albums for Nonesuch Records and Bedroom Community, he'd released a few on his own. After a collection of traditional Irish instrumentals, Amidon (as samamidon) delivered his true "debut" But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted. Recorded in 2005 with longtime collaborator Thomas Bartlett (Mumford & Sons, Sufjan Stevens, The National, David Byrne), Vermont-born Amidon re-imagines traditional songs alongside covers as diverse as Mississippi John Hurt to Tears For Fears, and rearranges them into his own unique and mesmerizing compositions. Unavailable for years, original copies now sell for top dollar on the collectors market. Nearly a decade later, But This Chicken Proved Falsehearted finally receives the reissue it deserves.

Track List
  1. Falsehearted Chicken
  2. True Born Sons of Levi
  3. Interlude
  4. Head Over Heels
  5. 1842
  6. Interlude
  7. Another Man Done Gone
  8. Louis Collins
  9. Interlude
  10. Roll on John
  11. Rocky Island
  12. Tribulation
  13. Oh Where
  14. Louis Collins
  15. Bourbon and Levi
  16. Another Man Done Gone
  17. Tribulation
  18. The Moon Shines Bright, the Stars They Give Light
  19. Head Over Heels
  20. Bourbon and 1842
  21. Rocky Island
  22. Won't Turn Back
  23. Saro Bounce

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 2-4 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 2-4 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.