SUPER BREAKS: RETURN TO THE OLD SCHOOL / VARIOUS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


UK double vinyl LP pressing. 2009 collection of ground-breaking early Hip Hop tracks, released to coincide with the 30th Anniversary of the release of the first Hip Hop singles. The music captured on those early records - by the Sugarhill Gang and the Fatback Band among others - was the result of a street level culture that had grown up in the wasteland of 1970s Bronx that had spread throughout New York's black communities. While MCs created the vocal hooks based on increasingly complicated rhymes, the musical beat was created by pioneering DJs cutting up old and new Funk and Soul records in ways that allowed them to play the bits of the records that the crowd responded and went wildest to. Super Breaks Back To The Old School gathers together some of the hottest tracks from those original block parties. 20 tracks BGP.

Track List
  1. Funky President (People It'S Bad) - James Brown
  2. Super Sporm - Captain Sky
  3. Apache - The Incredible Bongo Band
  4. Blow Your Head - (Fred Wesley &) The Jbs
  5. Scratching - Magic Disco Machine
  6. Gotta Get A Knutt (Lp Version) - The New Birth
  7. Johnny The Fox Meets Jimmy The Weed - Thin Lizzy
  8. Get Ya Some - Melvin Sparks
  9. The Clapping Song - Shirley Ellis
  10. Good Old Music - Funkadelic
  11. Get Up And Dance - Freedom
  12. Mary Mary - The Monkees
  13. Who Is He And What Is He To You - Creative Source
  14. It'S Just Begun - Jimmy Castor
  15. Give It Up And Turnit A Loose (Live) - James Brown
  16. Let A Woman Be A Woman - Let A Man Be A Man - Dyke & The Blazers
  17. Africano - Earth Wind And Fire
  18. Shifting Gears - Johnny Hammond
  19. Got To Be Real - Cheryl Lynn
  20. Unfinished Business - Blackbyrds

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.