The Bar-Kays

Gotta Groove (180g LP) (Vinyl)


The Bar-Kays

Gotta Groove (180g LP) (Vinyl)


Product Details


Released in 1969 on Stax subsidiary label Volt Records, the Bar-Kays’ Gotta Groove marked a triumphant return by a band reeling from tragedy after four members of the band were killed in a plane crash with Otis Redding in 1967. Surviving members Ben Cauley and James Alexander rebuilt the Bar-Kays with new musicians, and by 1969 they were back in the studio working with artists like Isaac Hayes. Gotta Groove was their first release with the new members and it stands as a testament to their resilience and talent. Highlights of the album include the psychedelic grooves of two-part song "Don't Stop Dancing (To the Music)," the jazz-tinged soul of Marvin Gaye cover, “If This World Were Mine,” and instrumental renditions of The Beatles’ “Yesterday” and “Hey Jude.”

Read our Store FAQ or Contact Us


Side A

1. Don’t Stop Dancing (To The Music) (Part I)
2. If This World Were Mine
3. In The Hole
4. Funky Thang
5. Jiving Round
6. Grab This Thing

Side B

1. Don’t Stop Dancing (To The Music) (Part II)
2. Street Walker
3. Yesterday
4. Humpin’
5. Hey Jude


• 50th Anniversary reissue
• ALL-ANALOG mastering by Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl
• 180-gram vinyl pressed at Memphis Record Pressing
• Classic tip-on jacket


In Stock
Typically delivered to United States in 3-6 business days
Backed by the Merchbar Guarantee.
Easy returns, great customer service and 100% authentic merch. Learn more.
Merch Alert The Bar-Kays

Love The Bar-Kays ?

Be first to know about The Bar-Kays merch.