THEE IDEAL GUS 99 Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

THEE IDEAL GUS 99 Vinyl Record

THEE IDEAL GUS 99 Vinyl Record
Thee Ideal Gus began in Hamilton, New Zealand, in the early '90s, sprung from the same gene pool and time as Armpit, GFrenzy, and Pumice. It's participants include Sugar Jon Arcus, Clayton Noone, Indira Neville, Kaatarama Motty Morehu, Stefan Neville, Witcyst, Dan Eemonk Powell, and Rachel Garbott, but membership has never been settled or defined. The band have released numerous cassettes and lathe-cut records on such cult labels as Plop, Root Don Lonie for Cash, and Stabbies and the Rocket Recordings. Thee Ideal Gus love double-barreled year numbers, so during the year 1999, they conducted daily recordings in Whangarei and Wellsford in the far north of New Zealand, and Dunedin in the far south. Diaries were kept, artwork was assembled, and tapes were mailed up and down the country. In 1999, Stabbies and the Rocket Recordings released the resultant material as 1999, in an edition of 20 lathe-cut double LPs. 99 is a selection of material compiled from that ridiculous obscurity by Clayton Noone and Stefan Neville. The music Thee Ideal Gus made that year documented the days as they happened. It charted weather patterns, prophesied the future, and celebrated team sports. Eddie Murphy and Yoko Ono are held in equally high regard. Nude drunk partying and the New Zealand general election of 1999 are all there in this record, on which a rusted clothes line is played alongside an elementary school xylophone, sampled techno records, and ukulele through a heavy metal pedal. It is mundane and marvelous. Edition of 200 copies in very elaborate packaging, including prints on acetate, Xerox inserts, and several hand-drawn original artworks.

Track List
  1. A1. Why a Lady? (0:57)
  2. A2. In the Rude (0:44)
  3. A3. Punk Fucks Us Up (1:38)
  4. A4. When It Rains (0:28)
  5. A5. Taste Race Tim Theme (1:03)
  6. A6. It's Thinner for Oils (5:37)
  7. A7. This Beats for Gus (0:54)
  8. A8. Holy Good Gus Progress (4:00)
  9. A9. Tooth Fairy Dietry Expose (0:35)
  10. A10. Dwarf Bean (4:51)
  11. B1. Gonna Rock It Up (0:15)
  12. B2. Party All the Time (0:28)
  13. B3. No Tit (2:09)
  14. B4. Summer Time in the City (0:26)
  15. B5. The Power Is in My Arse (0:30)
  16. B6. Will I Ever Fall in Love Again (0:28)
  17. B7. Salvia (0:59)
  18. B8. A Good Insane (3:31)
  19. B9. Election Night (2:10)
  20. B10. For the Winter (0:52)
  21. B11. Fruitbowl (0:36)
  22. B12. Razzmatazz (0:18)
  23. B13. Tiny Dwarf (5:27)
  24. B14. Temple of Low Pogs (0:31)
  25. B15. Spirit Is Piano Is Spirit Spirit Is Playing Marimba Tunes on a Piano (1:18)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in up to 8 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in up to 8 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.