Your Cart

You have no items in your cart.

Twin Cities Funk & Soul


Twin Cities Funk & Soul LOST GROOVES FROM MINNEAPOLIS / ST PAUL 1964-1979 Vinyl Record
Twin Cities Funk & Soul LOST GROOVES FROM MINNEAPOLIS / ST PAUL 1964-1979 Vinyl Record
Twin Cities Funk & Soul


Out of Stock
Fullfilled by Merchbar

Product Description

The Twin Cities of Minneapolis & St. Paul, Minnesota have long been recognized as great music towns. From the Andrews Sisters, to Bob Dylan, The Replacements, and Soul Asylum, the area has produced more than it's share of influential artists. In 1979, Prince's self-titled sophomore release drew attention the world over to the Twin Cities. Soon "The Minneapolis Sound" spread as other artists from the area began to build on the foundation laid by the purple one. For most, this is the genesis of funk and soul from The Land of 10,000 Lakes. However, the Twin Cities has a rich R&B history dating back decades before Prince's rise to fame. Twin Cities Funk and Soul: Lost R&B Grooves from Minneapolis/Saint Paul 1964-1979 is the "first of it's kind 21 track compilation uncovering and documenting this largely forgotten music. From sweet soul to full on dance floor funk, this record tells the story of the Twin Cities' R&B scene starting with the days of unofficially segregated clubs right up to the explosion of "The Minneapolis Sound." Secret Stash Records has spent over a year painstakingly researching and interviewing musicians, photographers, club owners, writers and radio DJ's from the time to paint a picture and "ll in the tales of yesteryear which are documented in a 32 page newspaper included with each 2xLP pressing. The newspaper it's self is a nod to the region's most trusted music rag of the era, The Insider. Lovingly hand assembled by a group of loyal volunteers with a keen attention to detail, each copy comes in a re-sealable dust bag and includes a free download of the entire album. Each CD pressing comes in a premium digi-pack and also includes extensive liner notes and photos.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. All Day Long/ The Valdons
  2. Sock-A-Poo-Poo '69 (Part 1)/ Maurice Mckinnies & The Champio
  3. Work Your Flapper (Part 1)/ Jackie Harris & The Champions
  4. She's A Whole Lot's A Woman/ Mojo And His "Chi 4"
  5. Ridin' High/ Dave Brady And The Stars
  6. I Ain't Gonna Cheat On You No More / Wee Willie Walker
  7. Save Me/ Wanda Davis
  8. Get Funky, Sweet A Little Bit/ Jackie Harris & The Exciters
  9. There Goes My Used To Be/ Wee Willie Walker
  10. Take Care/ Wanda Davis
  11. Sweet Smell Of Perfume/ Maurice Mckinnies & The Champions
  12. Baby, Baby I Need You/ Dave Brady And The Stars
  13. Love Me, Leave Me/ The Valdons
[Disc 2]
  1. Dipstick/ Willie And The Bumblebees
  2. Rusty Mcdusty/ Morris Wilson
  3. Thieves In The Funkhouse/ Band Of Thieves
  4. You Can Be/ Prophets Of Peace
  5. Saxophone Disco/ Morris Wilson
  6. Honey From The Bee/ Willie And The Bumblebees
  7. The Maxx/ Prophets Of Peace
  8. Get Up / The Lewis Connection

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Merch Alert Twin Cities Funk & Soul

Love Twin Cities Funk & Soul ?

Be first to know about Twin Cities Funk & Soul merch.
Your Cart
0 items