WHEN RHYTHM WAS KING / VARIOUS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


With the wealth of compilations from the Studio One vaults that Heartbeat has made available, it can get harder and harder with the passing years to organize them around fresh themes. The concept driving the selection of the 18 songs from 1966-1979 comprising When Rhythm Was King seems to be, in large but not whole part, to present original versions of numerous tracks that have been "versioned" many times since their initial release - more than 100 times in some cases, according to the liner notes. Muddying the clarity, there are also a few recordings which are themselves "versions" of Studio One releases. While the practice of multiple "versions," or covers, of well-liked songs in general (and these songs in particular) is the angle emphasized in this CD's annotation, it's perhaps better approached by the general reggae fan as simply a good varied compilation of assorted Studio One productions from the era, some of which are off the beaten track and not easy to find on reissues. Some pretty big reggae names are represented, including the Heptones, Bob Andy, Sugar Minott, Dillinger, Alton Ellis, and Dennis Brown; some relatively unfamiliar artists to the non-reggae specialist are mixed in as well. While reggae versions are often known for taking some liberties with the structure and arrangement of the original prototypes, most of these cuts are, in contrast, pretty down-to-earth songs and performances, with some great romantic singing even on some fairly unheralded recordings, like Basil Daley's 1968 single "Hold Me Baby" and (from the same year) Ernest Wilson's "Undying Love."

Track List
  1. Compliment to Studio One [Alternate Vocal Mix]
  2. Please Be True
  3. Why Oh Why
  4. Hold Me Baby
  5. Natty Kung Fu
  6. Come on Home
  7. Unchained [Original Mix]
  8. Undying Love
  9. Me and You
  10. Mad Mad
  11. Things a Come Up to Bump
  12. Back out with It
  13. Can't Buy Love
  14. Created by the Father [Extended Mix]
  15. Take a Ride
  16. Smile [Alternate Mix]
  17. Fattie Fattie
  18. Candid Eye

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 2-4 weeks
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 2-4 weeks.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at support@merchbar.com!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.