Yo La Tengo EXTRA PAINFUL Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Yo La Tengo EXTRA PAINFUL Vinyl Record

Yo La Tengo EXTRA PAINFUL Vinyl Record
2014 deluxe reissue of 1993's classic "Painful." This double vinyl LP includes a bonus 7" 45 RPM record and a download coupon for 15 extra tracks, as well as photos, an original band sticker, the first YLT Gazette in 14 years, and liner notes by Matador's Gerard Cosloy and the band. "Painful" marked some significant firsts for Yo La Tengo: It was their first album made with their eventually long-time producer Roger Moutenot and their first to be issued through Matador Records. It was also the first to capitalize on the new musical sensibilities of bassist James McNew and composers Georgia Hubley and Ira Kaplan. Here, the music turns three-dimensional, projecting a largeness their previous records never approached. Noise pop blends into folk balladry, and the result is charming, consistent, near transcendental. It's no wonder the band chose this album as a re-release for their thirtieth birthday. Matador.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Big Day Coming
  2. From A Motel 6
  3. Double Dare
  4. Superstar-Watcher
  5. Nowhere Near
  6. Sudden Organ
  7. A Worrying Thing
  8. I Was A Fool Beside You For Too Long
  9. The Whole Of The Law
  10. Big Day Coming
  11. I Heard You Looking
[Disc 2]
  1. Nowhere Near (Demo)
  2. From A Motel 6 (Live Acoustic)
  3. Tunnel Vision (Unreleased Instrumental
  4. Demo)
  5. Sudden Organ (Demo)
  6. Smart Window (Unreleased Painful
  7. Session)
  8. Big Day Coming (Live Acoustic)
  9. Slow Learner (Unreleased Demo)
  10. Double Dare (Demo)
  11. A Worrying Thing (Demo)
  12. I Heard You Looking (Live)
[Disc 3]
  1. Shaker
  2. For Shame Of Doing Wrong

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at support@merchbar.com!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.