Blaze Foley


merchbar gold supplier
Blaze Foley SITTIN' BY THE ROAD Vinyl Record
Blaze Foley SITTIN' BY THE ROAD Vinyl Record


merchbar gold supplier
Out of Stock
Fulfilled by Merchbar

Product Description

This Record Store Day eliterecords releases Sittin' By The Road by exceptional Texan Folk artist Blaze Foley on strictly limited 180g gold vinyl. The album captures the earliest known recordings by Blaze, recorded on reel-to-reel in the late 70s, and show the raw talent of his straight and genuine songwriting. The limited RSD-edition comes with detailed liner notes by Blaze Foley-documentary film maker Kevin Triplett. Born in Arkansas, Foley was shot to death way before his time, under circumstances still to be fully clarified. As a homeless, he traveled the streets of the Texan cities to share his music with people in nightclubs and bars. The companion and close friend of Townes Van Zandt always stood up for the weak, which eventually cost his life. Finally, after a life of rejections and blown opportunities, his work is now gaining recognition. In 2008 his biography Living In The Woods In A Tree was published, followed by Kevin Triplett's documentary about Foley's underdog life called Duct Tape Messiah. After the gradual disclosure of many of his unreleased recordings, German independent label eliterecords will now release this beautifully crafted limited RSD- edition. The 12 songs, including hits like Clay Pigeons and If I Could Only Fly - later to be covered by Willie Nelson and Merle Haggard -, showcase Foley's sound between classic American Country and modern Folk along with his cunning political lyrics and a both punchy and emotional tone. Today, Foley is admired not only by leading American Folk musicians like Nelson, Haggard or Prine, but also by independent artists like Kings Of Leon-singer Caleb Followill. The latter, in an interview with the L.A. Times in 2010, stated that Blaze Foley's songs currently were his most important musical inspiration.

Track List
  1. Big Cheeseburgers and Good French Fries
  2. Clay Pigeons
  3. Sittin' By the Road
  4. Slow Boat to China
  5. Election Day
  6. Let Me Ride in Your Big Cadillac
  7. Cold, Cold World
  8. The Way You Smile
  9. Rainbows and Ridges
  10. Fat Boy
  11. Faded Loves and Memories
  12. If I Could Only Fly

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.

Merch Alert Blaze Foley

Love Blaze Foley ?

Be first to know about Blaze Foley merch.
Your Cart
0 items