• Your Cart

    You have no items in your cart.

Price Match
Ramsey Lewis


$15.49 $13.94
For a limited time only
merchbar gold supplierfree shipping


$15.49 $13.94
For a limited time only
merchbar gold supplierfree shipping
Out of Stock
$3.99 standard shipping
Fulfilled by Merchbar

Product Description

Born in Chicago in 1935, Ramsey Emmanuel Lewis Jr., was already taking piano lessons at the age of four. At 15 he joined his first jazz band, The Cleffs, and later formed the Ramsey Lewis Trio with two other members, drummer Isaac "Redd" Holt and bassist Eldee Young. The Trio would go on to record 25 albums together by which time, the mid 1960s, they were not just one of the hottest Jazz outfits in the USA but were equally known on the pop charts as crossover singles such as 'Wade In The Water', 'The In Crowd' and 'Hang On Sloopy' all went top 10. Young and Holt left Ramsey around this time to form their own Young Holt Unlimited, while Lewis continued to bring in superlative jazz men such as drummer/vocalist Maurice White (later to form Earth, Wind and Fire) to back him on numerous further records, film soundtracks and in performance. This compilation features Ramsey Lewis' complete recorded output from his first album, 1956's Ramsey Lewis & His Gentle-men of Swing, through to 1960 and An Hour with the Ramsey Lewis Trio. The selection here includes eight complete albums originally released through this golden age for Jazz in general, and Ramsey Lewis in particular, including as it does collaborations with other jazz giants such as Jimmy Woods, Max Roach and Lorez Alexandria.

Track List
[Disc 1]
  1. Carmen
  2. Cast Your Fate to the Wind
  3. Bei Mir Bist du Schoen
  4. I'll Remember April
  5. My Funny Valentine
  6. Fantasia for Drums
  7. Dee's New Blues
  8. Tres
  9. Limelight
  10. Delilah
  11. I Get a Kick Out of You
  12. Please Send Me Someone to Love
  13. Brother John
  14. Black Is the Colour
  15. It Ain't Necessarily So
  16. Seven Valleys
  17. On the Street Where You Live
[Disc 2]
  1. Falmouth Recollections
  2. Way You Look Tonight
  3. Foofy for President
  4. Man from Potter's Crossing
  5. Dance of the Reluctant Drag
  6. Empathy, for Ruth
  7. Crackle Hut
  8. Speculate
  9. That Old Devil Called Love
  10. Audio Blues
  11. C.M
  12. Four-X
[Disc 3]
  1. Joy Spring
  2. Where It Is
  3. Sandu
  4. Once in a While
  5. Jordu
  6. It Could Happen to You
  7. Easy to Love
  8. Message from Boysie
  9. Dark Eyes
  10. Come Back to Sorrento
  11. Soul Mist
  12. John Henry
  13. Greensleeves
  14. We Blue It
  15. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child
  16. Suzanne
  17. Billy Boy
  18. Decisions
  19. Early in the Morning
  20. Don't Explain
[Disc 4]
  1. So Long
  2. Good Morning Heartache
  3. Trouble Is a Man
  4. I Ain't Got Nothing But the Blues
  5. Baby Don't You Cry
  6. Rocks in My Bed
  7. I'm Just a Lucky So and So
  8. I Almost Lost My Mind
  9. Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise
  10. C.C. Rider
  11. Love for Sale
  12. I Had the Craziest Dream
  13. It Ain't Necessarily So
  14. I Love Paris
  15. Way You Look Tonight
  16. Song of India
  17. Consider the Source
  18. Ruby and the Pearl
  19. Walls of Jericho
  20. Angel Eyes
This is a new, unopened CD in its original packaging.
Merch Alert Ramsey Lewis

Love Ramsey Lewis ?

Be first to know about Ramsey Lewis merch.
Your Cart
0 items