• Your Cart

    You have no items in your cart.

  • Rock
  • Pop
  • Rap/Hip-Hop
  • Country
  • Hard Rock
  • EDM
  • Jazz/Blues
  • Sale
  • Price Match
    $13.49 $12.14
    For a limited time only
    merchbar gold supplier
    The Paragons CD
    The Paragons CD


    $13.49 $12.14
    For a limited time only
    merchbar gold supplier
    Out of Stock
    $3.99 standard shipping
    Fulfilled by Merchbar

    Product Description

    The Paragons were a ska and rocksteady vocal group from Kingston, Jamaica, initially active in the 1960s. Their most famous track was "The Tide Is High", written by band member, John Holt. The Paragons were originally Garth "Tyrone" Evans, songwriter Bob Andy, Junior Menz, and Leroy Stamp. In 1964 Stamp was replaced by singer and songwriter John Holt, and Howard Barrett replaced Menz. The early Paragons sound used the vocal harmonies of Jamaican groups of the early 1960s. Beginning in 1964, they recorded on the Treasure Isle record label with record producer, Duke Reid songs such as "Memories by the Score", "On the Beach", "Only a Smile", "Wear You to the Ball", which were later covered by UB40, Horace Andy, Dennis Brown, Massive Attack, and others. Other recordings included "Man Next Door" aka "Quiet Place"/"I've Got to Get Away" (1968) and "Happy Go Lucky Girl". The Paragons' recordings, including the widely covered "Tide Is High" from 1967, written by Holt, and featuring the violin of "White Rum" Raymond, are among the highlights of Jamaican popular music.[1] "The Tide Is High" was taken to the top of the UK and US charts by Blondie in 1980;[3] while Atomic Kitten's cover version also topped the UK Singles Chart in 2002. The group reformed in the late 1970s and released further albums in the late 1970s and early 1980s. Evans died in 2000, and Holt in October 2014.

    Track List
    1. Happy Go Lucky Girl
    2. I'll Be Back
    3. Man Next Door
    4. Only A Smile
    5. My Best Girl
    6. The Tide Is High
    7. Riding On A High And Windy Day
    8. Wear You To The Ball
    9. The Same Song
    10. On The Beach
    11. Riding In Rhythm
    12. I'll Be Versioned
    13. You Mean The Versioned To Dub
    14. My Best Rhythm
    15. The Same Version
    16. Only A Dub
    17. The Version Is High
    18. Wear Out The Dub
    19. So Much Rhythm
    20. Happy Go Lucky Dub
    21. On The Version
    22. Man Next Dub
    This is a new, unopened CD in its original packaging.
    Merch Alert The Paragons

    Love The Paragons ?

    Be first to know about The Paragons merch.
    Your Cart
    0 items