• Shopping Cart
  • Your Cart

    You have no items in your cart.

Price Match

'The Tenant' Vinyl LP - Magenta Vinyl Record

DEATH & VANILLA 'The Tenant' Vinyl LP - Magenta Vinyl Record
DEATH & VANILLA 'The Tenant' Vinyl LP - Magenta Vinyl Record

'The Tenant' Vinyl LP - Magenta Vinyl Record

In Stock
$15.80 standard shipping (estimated)
Delivery: Estimated between Fri Apr 23 to Fri Apr 30
Ships from United Kingdom
Vinyl LP - Magenta + Download Card

Product Description

Magenta coloured vinyl LP, includes DL card. “The retro leaning Scandi duo fire up their Moogs and mellotrons, sonic archaeologists with a hauntological bent.. there is an alluring sexiness to their avant-Kraut Moog-pop excursions.” Uncut

“Recalling the eerie, haunted ambience of Angelo Badalamenti/Julee Cruise’s Twin Peaks soundtrack, Stereolab/Broadcast’s experimental vision of ‘50s lounge muzak/exotica and French ‘60s pop, or the narcotic country-noir of Mazzy Star.” The Guardian

Following on from the deluxe reissue ‘Vampyr’ last year, comes Death And Vanilla’s unreleased live score of ‘The Tenant’ on limited edition magenta vinyl. Originally scored by Philippe Sarde, this release sees Death And Vanilla reimagine the film’s soundtrack four decades on for a new audience.

The haunting instrumental is a foreboding piece of dark and cinematic avant-garde music that’s alienated, lonely and melancholic. Moments of hallucination and delusion mirror the lead character Trelovsky.

Recorded in 2015 at Cinemascore festival in Spain alongside a two-hour performance and screening of psychological thriller ‘The Tenant’ (1976). With the band at their most minimal, the accomplished musicians once again bring the dark narrative to life with their expansive and ethereal noir sound.

The recording features them as a trio – Marleen Nilsson (Farfisa Compact), Anders Hansson (Hagstrom Kent, Roland SP-404 and Technics SL-1200) and Magnus Bodin (Moog Prodigy and Musser M55).

Directed by Polish filmmaker Roman Polanski and based on the novel Le Locataire by Roland Topor, ‘The Tenant’ is the finale in his acclaimed apartment triology which included “Repulsion” (1965) and “Rosemary’s Baby” (1968).

1. Loctaire - intro
2. Zy And Choule
3. Church Music
4. Walls Have Teeth
5. Labyrinthe
6. Mouvement Panique
7. Free Design Kung-Fu
8. ”Do You Have Any Trouble With Your Neighbours?”
9. ”If You Cut Off My Head, What Do I Say? Me And My Head Or Me And My Body?”
10. Dioz Delirium
11. Everything Is Always Happening
12. Solitaire
13. The Bouncing Head
14. Music Box - outro

Release Date: 23/02/2018


Be first to know about DEATH & VANILLA merch.
Your Cart
0 items