• Your Cart

    You have no items in your cart.

  • Rock
  • Pop
  • Rap/Hip-Hop
  • Country
  • Hard Rock
  • EDM
  • Jazz/Blues
  • Sale
  • Price Match
    Elvis Presley

    Way Down In The Jungle Room CD

    Elvis Presley Way Down In The Jungle Room CD

    Way Down In The Jungle Room CD

    Out of Stock

    Product Description

    2CD digipak with 16 page booklet
    The Definitive Compilation of Presley's Last Sessions, Recorded in Graceland's Legendary “Jungle Room,” Includes Masters, Rare Alternate Takes on 2CDs and 24-page Booklet

    By 1976, Elvis Presley’s association with RCA Records had reached its 20-year mark. While this tenure resulted in some of the most important records in rock and roll history, Presley—now 40 years old and having spent much of his time working in recording studios— was anxious for a change and eager for a less formal recording experience.

    Seeking alternatives to maintain Elvis’ renewed showings on the country and adult contemporary charts, the decision was made to convert the “Jungle Room”—a room in Elvis’ Graceland estate, so named for its exotic décor—into an informal studio. With the help of RCA’s mobile recording truck and longtime producer Felton Jarvis at the helm, Presley would sporadically record in the “Jungle Room” throughout 1976. Far from hastily realized material, Elvis would tackle a far-ranging mix of country and pop covers (“Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain,” “I’ll Never Fall in Love Again,” “Danny Boy,” “Solitaire”) and late-period classics of the Elvis Presley catalog, such as “Moody Blue” and “Way Down.”

    A majority of the “Jungle Room” material was released as From Elvis Presley Boulevard, Memphis, Tennessee in the spring of 1976, featuring the Top 10 hit “Hurt.” A year later, in July 1977, more of these sessions were paired with overdubbed live material and released as Moody Blue. The title track would top the country charts that month; “Way Down” would follow, bolstered by the tragic news that Elvis Presley had died on August 16, 1977. They were the last studio albums released in his lifetime.

    Way Down In The Jungle Room recontextualizes these sessions across two discs, presenting original master takes with rare alternates and showcasing Presley’s brilliant final act. The change of setting did nothing to inhibit the power of these magnificent recordings, and Way Down In The Jungle Room shines a proper light on his achievements—The King of Rock and Roll, at peace in his castle but with no intention of abdicating his throne.

    DISC 1 - The Masters
    1. Way Down
    2. She Thinks I Still Care
    3. Bitter They Are, Harder They Fall
    4. Pledging My Love
    5. For The Heart
    6. Love Coming Down
    7. He'll Have To Go
    8. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
    9. Hurt
    10. Never Again
    11. Danny Boy
    12. Solitaire
    13. Moody Blue
    14. It's Easy For You
    15. I'll Never Fall In Love Again
    16. The Last Farewell

    DISC 2 – The Outtakes
    1. Bitter They Are, Harder They Fall - take 1
    2. She Thinks I Still Care – take 10
    3. The Last Farewell - take 2
    4. Solitaire - take 7
    5. I'll Never Fall In Love Again – take 5
    6. Moody Blue – take 1
    7. For The Heart – take 1
    8. Hurt – take 3
    9. Danny Boy – take 9
    10. Never Again - take 9
    11. Love Coming Down – take 3
    12. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain – take 4
    13. She Thinks I Still Care – (alternate version) take 2
    14. It's Easy For You - take 1
    15. Way Down – take 2
    16. Pledging My Love – take 3
    17. For The Heart – take 4
    Merch Alert Elvis Presley

    Love Elvis Presley ?

    Be first to know about Elvis Presley merch.
    Your Cart
    0 items