• Your Cart

    You have no items in your cart.

  • Rock
  • Pop
  • Rap/Hip-Hop
  • Country
  • Hard Rock
  • EDM
  • Jazz/Blues
  • Sale
  • Price Match
    Sonic Youth

    'Bad Moon Rising' Vinyl Record

    Sonic Youth 'Bad Moon Rising' Vinyl Record

    'Bad Moon Rising' Vinyl Record

    Out of Stock
    $14.84 standard shipping (estimated)
    Ships from United Kingdom

    Product Description

    1985 sophomore album, back in print! LP + download card add four bonus tracks.
    Features “Death Valley ’69” with Lydia Lunch.

    EVOL, Sister and Confusion Is Sex reissues will follow this release. Sonic Youth’s second full-length LP Bad Moon Rising was originally released on Homestead and Blast First in 1985.

    The album is a fascinating examination of “the junction where hippie idealism [meets] the cold hard world,” says guitarist Lee Ranaldo, “where Woodstock [meets] Altamont—Death Valley, Charles Manson, Brian Wilson, musicians, murderers, heroes and villains.” Its original eight-song tapestry of droning guitar feedback, distant clattering percussion, and sullen vocals, all held together with interstitial noise loops and shadowy haze, ambles through a long, dark night before the feverish “Death Valley ’69,” driven by runaway guitar riffs and a frantic

    Thurston Moore / Lydia Lunch vocal duet, pounds the capstone into place. Sonic Youth’s big leap forward from Confusion Is Sex and Kill Yr Idols “reflects the spirit of the time,” to quote All Music Guide. Bad Moon Rising views “American gothic through the glassy eyes of wilful moonlit paranoia.”

    Back in print on Goofin’ Records, this reissue includes bonus tracks “Flower” and “Halloween,” both from a 12”single of the same era.

    The sound collage morsels “Satan Is Boring” and “Echo Canyon” are your cue to begin moving toward the exit and get out while you can. 

    1. Intro
    2. Brave Men Run (In My Family)
    3. Society Is a Hole
    4. I Love Her All the Time
    5. Ghost Bitch
    6. I’m Insane
    7. Justice Is Might
    8. Death Valley ’69

    Bonus Tracks on Digital Download:
    9. Satan Is Boring
    10. Flower
    11. Halloween
    12. Echo Canyon
    Merch Alert Sonic Youth

    Love Sonic Youth ?

    Be first to know about Sonic Youth merch.
    Your Cart
    0 items