AFROSOUND OF COLOMBIA 2 / VARIOUS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


Double LP version. Vampisoul is back with a fresh batch of funky, folky and psychedelic tropical bangers from the deep vaults of Discos Fuentes (and it's other properties, Tropical and Machuca). As previously stated in the first volume of this series, the term "Afrosound" is an invented concept appropriated from Discos Fuentes. If the term seems a bit vague or slippery, rest assured that with this second installment you will come closer to understanding the Afrosound aesthetic. This Afro-vibration was sent out from the cold, misty high mountains and bounced back down to the flattened plains, meandering rivers, verdant valleys, steaming jungle and whispering shores of the azure sea, where it was resold to the original regions that inspired it and traveled to further lands beyond the horizon, like Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, Argentina. There were also several smaller coastal-based labels like Curro and Tropical that did much the same thing, but maintained a local base of operations for their work. You would have found this sound in little moldy hardware, musical instrument and dry-goods stores, or broadcast on radios in buses, cars, trucks, fishermen's canoes, even lashed to burros. It blasted in bars, hotels, on beaches from transistors. It was played on the booming sound systems at the outdoor black champetero parties under the palm trees and in the palenques, social clubs and house parties in working-class barrios, on crackling loudspeakers blaring from street festivals, in plazas. This incredible stream of black gold adorned and enriched the public airways of Cali, Buenaventura, Cartagena, Baranquilla, to become a symbol of pride and part of Colombia's collective identity. Afrosound is not really something tangible that can be tied down and bound to a critic's rules. Nor is it some venerable folkloric strain passed down through generations from time immemorial. It's a modern bastard hybrid, syncretic and synthetic, spawned in the studio, co-opted by government, commodified by an industry that could only have been born in the era of the global village. The unifying factor of this second volume is still the same: African roots or influences and the period of experimentation, self expression, upheaval, rebellion and rebirth in the industry, nurtured by Discos Fuentes and it's stable of musicians, producers and engineers.

Track List
  1. Pachanga Miramar - El Sexteto Miramar
  2. Cumbia de Luna - El Combo Loco
  3. Juventud Flaca y Loca - Lisandro Meza y Su Combo Gigante
  4. Sabor de Vacana - Peregoyo y Su Combo Vacana
  5. Que Se Hicieron - Orquesta Ritmo de Sabanas
  6. Pompo Del Pilón - los Corraleros de Majagual
  7. Goza Mi Tamborera - los Teen Agers
  8. Caleñita - Michi Sarmiento y Su Combo Bravo
  9. Rosalba - Banda 20 de Julio de Repelón
  10. Locura de Mi Cumbelé - Adolfo Echeverria y Su Orquesta
  11. Achilipu - Fruko y Sus Tesos
  12. Banana de Queso - Afrosound
  13. Fayab Fayab - Wganda Kenya
  14. Batukacuto - Tita Duval/El Nuevo Ritmo de Bobby Rey
  15. El Nativo - Wganda Kenya
  16. El Soncito - Chico Cervantes y Su Nueva Banda
  17. Dale Al Bombo - the Latin Brothers
  18. Juana Rosa Manzano - Corraleros de Majagual
  19. Caimán y Gallinazo - la Integracion
  20. Yolanda - los Bestiales
  21. La Rochela - la Banda de la Boquilla
  22. Una Abeja en El Semáforo - Afrosound
  23. Luz en la Inmensidad - Fruko y Sus Tesos
  24. Staying Alive - Machuca Cumbia

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 8 weeks or longer
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 8 weeks or longer.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.