Luiz Bonfa BRAZILS KING OF THE BOSSA NOVA & GUITAR Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


This reissue... proves why Bonfá is heralded as one of bossa nova's most important and prolific interpreters. Accompanied by an unidentified horn and rhythm section and recorded in Paris in 1962 and '63, the album features original compositions, many of them coauthored by Maria Helena Toledo, and features Bonfá's rhythmically charged guitar style and his extraordinary, expressive vocal. The fourth track, 'Dor Que Faz Doer,' includes his percussive beating on the body of the guitar, and his probing vocal on the lilting 'Teu Olhar Triste' makes for one of the more tender pieces in the collection... Le Roi de la Bossa Nova is a celebration of the brilliance of one of Brazil's most beloved artists and should be a must for all avid collectors. - Rebeca Mauleón, JazzTimes.

Track List
  1. Bonfa Nova (New Bonfa)
  2. Cantiga Da Vida (Song Of Life)
  3. Amor Por Amor (Love For Love)
  4. Dor Que Faz Doer (Pain That Makes It Hurt)
  5. Samba De Duas Notas (Samba Two Notes)
  6. Teu Olhar Triste (Your Sad Look)
  7. Lila
  8. Voce Chegou (You Arrived)
  9. Santeleco
  10. Balaio From The Film “Santo Modico”
  11. Sorrindo (Smiling)
  12. Bossa Em Re (Bossa In Re)
  13. Voce Chegou (You Arrived)
  14. Saudade Vem Correndo (Longing Comes Running)
  15. Mania De Maria

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
Backorder - Ships in 8 weeks or longer
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days after shipment
This item is on backorder and is estimated to ship in 8 weeks or longer.
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Related Artists

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.