Gilles Presents Sun Ra Peterson & His Arkestra TO THOSE OF EARTH AND OTHER WORLDS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping

Gilles Presents Sun Ra Peterson & His Arkestra TO THOSE OF EARTH AND OTHER WORLDS Vinyl Record

Gilles Presents Sun Ra Peterson & His Arkestra TO THOSE OF EARTH AND OTHER WORLDS Vinyl Record
Strut follow up their hugely successful Marshall Allen-curated 'In The Orbit Of Ra' compilation with a newly curated set from the immense 125 LP back catalogue of jazz maverick, DIY philosopher and self-professed member of an "angel race", Sun Ra. 'To Those Of Earth... And Other Worlds' is a hand-picked selection from BBC 6Music DJ Gilles Peterson, long-time champion of Ra's music and the UK's leading tastemaker for jazz-based sounds. It serves as perhaps the best introduction yet to the music of Sun Ra for a whole new generation of converts. Sun Ra was a one-off in the annals of jazz. As author Robert L. Campbell describes, "He claimed to be the last of the swing band leaders, yet dosed classic songs with LSD. He wrote poetry about the "coming space age" and claimed to be a citizen of Saturn. He dressed himself and his band in gold lame and lectured on the Creator 's message to the cruel and deceitful Earthman. He named himself after an Egyptian God. Was this guy for real? Sun Ra was very much for real." For the CD version, Peterson picks personal favorites, classics and unreleased tracks and weaves them into a flowing piece across 2CDs, showcasing the incredible variety of Ra's work. Alongside the familiar tones of 'Love In Outer Space', the modal classic 'Sleeping Beauty ' and a heavy version of 'We Travel The Spaceways', he brings in the off-kilter croon of 'Dreaming', a 45 given to him personally by the late John Peel, alongside an unreleased 1987 bossa take on 'Astro Black', the experimental dub ambience of 'Adventure-Equation' and the defiant anthem, 'Blackman'. The 2LP features full length versions of selected tracks from the mix while the digital version features a full unmixed selection with Peterson's mix available within the album bundle. Sleeve notes on physical formats come from Gilles Peterson with a full Ra career biography by author Robert L. Campbell. The album also features previously unseen photos from the archives of Val Wilmer and Jorg Brecker alongside full musician line-ups and session details.

Track List
  1. Calling Planet Earth - Sun Ra and His Myth-Science Arkestra
  2. Sun Song - Sun Ra
  3. Dreaming (With Sun Ra and the Arkestra) - the Cosmic Rays
  4. India - Sun Ra and His Arkestra
  5. Space Loneliness - Sun Ra and His Myth-Science Arkestra
  6. Love in Outer Space (Vocal) - Sun Ra and His Intergalactic Infinity Arkestra
  7. Adventure-Equation - Sun Ra and His Myth-Science Arkestra
  8. Spontaneous Simplicity - Sun Ra and His Myth-Science Arkestra
  9. Brazilian Sun - Sun Ra and His Myth-Science Arkestra
  10. When There Is No Sun (Feat. John Gilmore) - Sun Ra Quartet
  11. My Brother the Wind - Sun Ra and His Astro Infinity Arkestra
  12. Mystery, Mr. Ra - Sun Ra and His Arkestra
  13. Black Sky and Blue Moon - Sun Ra and His Myth-Science Arkestra
  14. Watusa - Sun Ra and His Myth-Science Arkestra
  15. The World of Africa - the Sun Ra Arkestra
  16. Cluster of Galaxies - Sun Ra and His Solar Arkestra
  17. Strange Worlds - Sun Ra and His Arkestra
  18. Blackman - Sun Ra and His Blue Universe Arkestra

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.