LIFE IS DANCE / VARIOUS Vinyl Record has been added to your cart. Click here to edit your cart.
or Continue Shopping


2015 repress. Once again, Finders Keepers Records is given unparalleled access to the EMI Pakistan vaults to bring you Life Is Dance, the 2011 follow-up to 2010's critically acclaimed groundbreaking Lollywood cinematic pop compendium The Sound of Wonder! (BMS 012 CD). Commonly, ignorantly, but understandably lumped in with it's wealthy not-too-distant cousin, Bollywood, Lollywood was inspired by, but often overshadowed by it's posh and welltravelled relative. Following the simplistic Bombay + Hollywood = Bollywood name game (that would in later years spawn Nollywood in Nigeria), Lollywood's Lahore, Pakistan-based film industry was a profitable and vibrant one that found great success in the modest boundaries of it's own country but was seldom savored outside Pakistan. However, the hugely important musical business spawned a byproduct that was viewed as a potential earner for international entertainment industry, EMI, which allowed talented musicians to create ambitious music with world-class media ranging throughout the '60s and '70s from fuzz guitars to space echo machines and American and European synthesizers, but, due to the composers' indigenous roots, rarely a drum kit. Here you'll find fuzzy, scuzzy, twang-happy, spaced-out, and funked-up Urdu-grooves complete with harmonium melodies and driven by some of the most random factor, freakish, finger-numbing percussion that the South East Asian mainstream has ever had to offer. Above all, Lollywood soundtracks sound RAW! The lack of gloss on a dusty Pakistani mini-LP makes for truly experimental Eastern pop music. So, it's time to meet the culprits - as an introduction, in place of R. D. Burman and Asha Bhosle, we have Mr. M. Ashraf and his long-term female collaborator, Naheed Akhtar. This duo would provide Pakistan with it's Gainsbourg/Birkin or Morricone/Dell'Orso for over 20 years, recording squillions of cut-and-paste sonic collages and moog-fuelled desperate love/hate/chase/chill/kill songs mixing onomatopoeic Urdu lyrics with unexpected bursts of user-friendly English language and the odd motif from a Barry White or Donna Summer hit. We also have legends like Noor Jehan, a national treasure and household name in Pakistan whose discography of film songs have deprived the vaults of EMI Pakistan of floor space for half a century. Also includes tracks by Tafo, Mehdi Hassan, A. Nayyar, Nazir Ali, Mehnaz, Kamel Ahmed, Sohail Rana, Abdul Hameed, Afshan, and Cheeku. All tracks licensed exclusively through the EMI Pakistan vaults in Lahore and remastered from the original reels.

Track List
  1. 01. Tafo - Zambo Zambo (Feat. Nahid Akhtar with Mehdi Hassan & a. Nayyar)
  2. 02. Nazir Ali - Life Is Dance (Feat. Nahid Akhtar & Mehnaz)
  3. 03. M. Ashraf - Dear I Love You (Feat. Nahid Akhtar)
  4. 04. Kamel Ahmed - Aage Bhi (Feat. Mehnaz)
  5. 05. Tafo - Shola Sa Bharka (Feat. Nahid Ahktar)
  6. 06. Tafo - Naughty Boy (Feat. Nahid Akhtar)
  7. 07. Sohail Rana - Cobra Sway
  8. 08. M. Ashraf - Sheeshy Ki Botal (Feat. Nahid Akhtar)
  9. 09. Abdul Hameed - Catch Me If You Can (Mere Liye Harr Dil Hai Dewaana) (Feat. Nahid Akhtar)
  10. 10. M. Ashraf - Too Ne Pyar Se Dekha (Feat. Nahid Akhtar)
  11. 11. M. Ashraf - O My Love (Feat. Nahid Akhtar)
  12. 12. Tafo - Wey Titly Non Par (Feat. Afshan)
  13. 13. Tafo - Dil Be-Qarar Mangda Ae Pyar (Feat. Noor Jehan & Cheeku)
  14. 14. Kamal Ahmed - Don't Drink (Feat. Nahid Akhtar)
  15. 15. Kamal Ahmed - Jawani Meri Bijli (Feat. Noor Jehan)
  16. 16. Nazir Ali - Happy Chrismis (Feat. Nahid Akhtar & Mehnaz)

Each record is protected within its record sleeve by a white vellum anti-dust sleeve.

All items are shipped brand-new and unopened in original packaging. Every record is shipped in original factory-applied shrink wrap and has never been touched by human hands.
United States - Arrives in 3-6 business days
Guarantee: Backed by the Merchbar Money Back Promise.
Unopened, unworn products can be returned within 30 days.
Learn more

Learn More

Most orders ship the next business day after an order is placed and on average are received 3.8 business days after shipment. Please note that some orders may take up to 10 business days to arrive - especially during peak shipping times, inclement weather or when shipping to remote locations within the United States.

We want you to be completely satisfied with everything you purchase from Merchbar. In nearly every instance, as long as your item is in like-new condition we will gladly accept your return and either provide you with a refund or a new item.

See the full details here.

Unless otherwise noted, all shirts, hoodies and other apparel are traditional men's sizes, fit true to size and are 100% cotton. Women's, Children's, Youth and infant sizes as well as alternate materials are noted as such.

Merchbar is an official merchandise partner of top artists and merchandise companies world wide. Millions of fans shop and discover new, authentic merchandise from our selection of 100,000 officially licensed shirts, hats, posters, hoodies, vinyl and other unique items from over 12,000 artists.

Merchbar has been featured in The Wall Street Journal, Fortune, Variety & Forbes among others. Merchbar for iPhone has been featured by Apple more than 23 times.

Learn more about us here.

You may also be interested in

The Merchbar Promise

Buy with confidence: Merchbar guarantees 100% authentic merchandise, over-the-top customer service and a wonderful experience.

We’d love to help. Email us at!

Learn more about returns or read our FAQ.