Nora Jane Struthers


Get it in time for Christmas!Check shipping cutoff dates.
Get it in time for Christmas!Check shipping cutoff dates.

Product Details

Nora Jane Struthers calls her music "Classic Americana". The 26-year-old vocalist, an NYU grad and a full-time teacher of high school English in Brooklyn, before making a professional leap into music with a move to Nashville in 2008, has formulated a unique fusion of traditional styles. "It's not really bluegrass, it's not really old time, it's not folk, it's all of these things," Stuthers says. "In my last year of teaching, we were reading Jane Austen, Shakespeare, classic English literature. The themes in those works and in the music I was listening to Doc Watson, the Louvin Brothers, Tim O'Brien came together for me. The universal themes that have been pervasive in storytelling started to develop in my writing. I turned to story-songs." Struthers performs her material with a voice as pretty and home spun as the vintage dresses she favors on stage. Her accompanists on the album include acclaimed singer/multi-instrumentalist Tim O'Brien, all-star fiddler Stuart Duncan, award-winning dobro player Rob Ickes, top bluegrass guitarist Bryan Sutton, banjo ace Scott Vestal, veteran bassist Denis Crouch, and, on backing vocals, do anything performer Shawn Lane. Producer Brent Truitt contributes mandolin and octave mandolin.

Track List
  1. Willie
  2. Mocking Bird
  3. Thistle
  4. Look Out on the Mountain
  5. Greenbrier County
  6. The Blight
  7. Evelyn
  8. Cowgirl Yodel #3
  9. Build You a House
  10. One Notch Tighter
  11. He's a Free Man
  12. Say Darlin' Say
This is a new, unopened CD in its original packaging.
Out of Stock
Backed by the Merchbar Guarantee.
Easy returns, great customer service and 100% authentic merch. Learn more.
Merch Alert Nora Jane Struthers

Love Nora Jane Struthers ?

Be first to know about Nora Jane Struthers merch.