• Shopping Cart
  • Your Cart

    You have no items in your cart.

Price Match
Jerry Garcia

Band - GarciaLive Volume 8: 11/23/91 2-CD Set

Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Volume 8: 11/23/91 2-CD Set

Band - GarciaLive Volume 8: 11/23/91 2-CD Set

In Stock
Delivery: Estimated between Thu Apr 22 to Tue Apr 27

Product Description

The 8th installment in the GarciaLive series presents the Jerry Garcia Band's 11/23/1991 performance at the Bradley Center in Milwaukee, WI. The Fall ’91 tour as a whole is widely regarded as one of Garcia’s finest and this particular Saturday evening serves as a further testament to the legend. Fans in attendance braved an intense snowstorm and the audience's palpable energy and enthusiasm was a likely catalyst for this spirited performance. Keyboardist Melvin Seals summarized the group nicely stating "That was the magic band. It’s not that the other scenarios didn’t work out but once we got to that level of the band with (drummer) Dave Kemper, John Kahn, Jerry, myself and the singers, Jackie LaBranch and Gloria Jones we all knew we had something special. That was the band.”

And magic they made! As Dean Budnick notes in the release’s liner note essay, "If at times the Grateful Dead could be something of a turgid Russian novel: convoluted and labyrinthine yet mostly rewarding, the Jerry Garcia Band during this era was more of an Elizabethan sonnet: breezy, emotive and luminous.” The tone is set with a melodious “Cats Under The Stars” opening the evening to the sheer delight of the crowd. Playful and buoyant versions of “Lay Down Sally”, “Ain’t No Bread in the Breadbox”, and “Deal”, along with an incendiary “Tangled Up In Blue” build into peak after peak. The evening is balanced by soul-soaked performances of “That Lucky Old Sun”, “My Sisters and Brothers” and a positively show-stopping take on The Manhattan’s “Shining Star” which showcases Jerry and the girls singing in beautiful harmony. As the Garcia Band graduated into arenas it could be expected that some of the intimacy might be lost, but on this evening in Milwaukee, they managed to make the Bradley Center feel cozy and warm.

See details for track list.

Disc 1:
1.) Cats Under The Stars
2.) They Love Each Other
3.) Lay Down Sally
4.) The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
5.) Reuben and Cherise
6.) Money Honey
7.) My Sisters and Brothers
8.) Deal

Disc 2:
1.) Bright Side of the Road
2.) Waiting for a Miracle
3.) Think
4.) Shining Star
5.) Ain’t No Bread in the Breadbox
6.) That Lucky Old Sun
7.) Tangled Up in Blue

Merch Alert Jerry Garcia

Love Jerry Garcia ?

Be first to know about Jerry Garcia merch.
Your Cart
0 items