'Behind The Sun' Vinyl Record

Motorpsycho 'Behind The Sun' Vinyl Record

'Behind The Sun' Vinyl Record

Out of Stock
$17.37 standard shipping (estimated)
Ships from United Kingdom

Product Description

It´s safe to say that after 25 years Motorpsycho has cemented their position as an institution in Norwegian music, no rock band has even been close to achieving the same status when it comes to longterm quality, credibility, integrity and respect.

"...One day in the 25th year of the Motorpsychodelic Union, the forces of D/Numbness were finally vanquished. Once again the intergalactic Four Norsemen of the Rock Avant could fly their veg zeppelin unchallenged across the solar plains, their mission complete and the righteous deed done! …for still they held sway, and on this day at least - somewhere Behind The Sun - they were triumphant!"

For their previous album ”Still Life With Eggplant” they assembled some 20 songs of what Bent Sæther called ”other music”, simply songs from the last three years that didn´t suit the operatic Unicorn behemot, but refused to be ignored.

For most of the recording sessions the core trio was augmented by guitarist Reine Fiske. Best known for his work in Swedish psych-combos Dungen and The Amazing, Reine is an old acquaintance of the band, and his recent exploits with Ståle Storløkken's Elephant9 had made the pairing seem like a potentially interesting one for Motorpsycho as well.

So well, in fact, that he tagged along for most live shows as well as the recording of the new magnum opus "Behind The Sun". With nine tracks clocking in at just over an hour, the album also brings the "Hell, Part 1-3" from "Still Life With Eggplant" to a conclusion (?) with "Hell, Part 4-6" and the closing track "Hell, Part 7".

And as with "Still Life With Eggplant" the recording was done in Brygga Studio in their hometown of Trondheim where they had recorded a few of their first albums (“Soothe”, “Demon Box” and “Timothy's Monster”) some twenty years ago.

Guests this time, in addition to Reine Fiske, is Ole Henrik Moe on viola and saw and Kari Rønnekleiv on violin, both known from their Norwegian Grammy winning album "Ciaccona/3 Persephone Perceptions" (RCD2068) from 2007.

1. Cloudwalker (a Darker Blue)
2. Ghost
3. On a Plate
4. The Promise
5. Kvæstor (incl. Where Greyhounds Dare)
6. Hell
7. Part 4-6: Traitor/The Tapestry/Swiss Cheese Mountain
8. Entropy
9. The Magic & The Wonder (a love theme)
10. Hell
11. Part 7: Victim of Rock

Merch Alert Motorpsycho

Love Motorpsycho ?

Be first to know about Motorpsycho merch.
Your Cart
0 items